Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions volume 6 (5e) - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Discussions > Game Rules
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12-30-2014, 04:28 PM
zevonian's Avatar
zevonian zevonian is offline
137 NPSG Graduates
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 05-26-2020
RPXP: 36542
zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian
Posts: 28,689
Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions volume 6 (5e)

Hey everybody, now that 5e is out and multiple books are available for it, here's a thread for Q & A in regards to mechanics and play and such.
__________________
"Enjoy every sandwich." - WZ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-31-2015, 10:53 AM
creed's Avatar
creed creed is offline
Meet thy maker, sinner!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 05-26-2020
RPXP: 8595
creed creed creed creed creed creed creed creed creed creed creed
Posts: 3,268
Well let's pop this thread's cherry.

Throwing non weapons; any point to doing a check for it, or as long as it's not a ridiculous distance?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2015, 09:33 AM
loki_ragnarock's Avatar
loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock is offline
I'm really not that cool.
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-14-2018
RPXP: 4706
loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock
Posts: 8,188
Throwing could fall under athletics if you felt like it.

As for the check; in a tense situation where it has to be right the first time - like combat or fleeing from a collapsing temple or thowing a delicate flask of detonation - I'd have them make a check. There's a difference between throwing something in someone's general direction and throwing something right to their hand without them missing a beat.

Frankly, if they can spend the time to pick it up off the ground without any problems, then don't bother with the check.
__________________
I took the road less traveled now where the hell am I? (Thanks Jhulae)
"I suppose a good death is better then bad roleplaying."
-#577 From The Canonical List of Famous Last Words
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2015, 12:51 PM
SigCorps's Avatar
SigCorps SigCorps is offline
Young Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 01-25-2016
RPXP: 99
SigCorps
Posts: 56
So just got a copy of the PHB and the last system I played was 3.5. Lots of differences. Looking at the character creation it says
Quote:
Humans Ability Score Increase. Your ability scores each
increase by 1.
Does this mean every ability score gets a +1 at creation. Since it seems that all the other races get something. Or is it you can pick any score to get a +1.

OK next question...Spell casting for Warlocks. OK so it seems they cast spells via spending a spell slot. I assume they can cast any of the spells the know at any time, without prior preparation like a wizard. So they are more like a sorcerer. Then there is this bit here...

Quote:
For example, when you are 5th level, you have two 3rd-level spell slots. To cast the 1st-level spell thunderwave, you must spend one of those slots, and you cast it as a 3rd-level spell.
Why...must you use a 3rd level slot for a first level spell that does not appear on your spell list (which maybe neither here nor there). All the other spell casters cast spells using slots and must spend one slot of the same spell level, or higher, of the spell they wish to cast. As long as they have prepared that spell. Is it different for the Warlock, or should the text have read thus?
Quote:
you have two 3rd-level spell slots left
So therefore you need to select one of your remaining slots to cast that 1st level spell.
__________________
~SigCorps
I see no good reason to act my age.
We have enough youth...how about a fountain of smart

Last edited by SigCorps; 10-11-2015 at 03:47 PM. Reason: added more questions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2015, 05:04 PM
loki_ragnarock's Avatar
loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock is offline
I'm really not that cool.
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-14-2018
RPXP: 4706
loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock loki_ragnarock
Posts: 8,188
Quote:
Why...must you use a 3rd level slot for a first level spell that does not appear on your spell list (which maybe neither here nor there). All the other spell casters cast spells using slots and must spend one slot of the same spell level, or higher, of the spell they wish to cast. As long as they have prepared that spell. Is it different for the Warlock, or should the text have read thus?
Look carefully at the Warlock entry and you will find that the Warlock doesn't have tiered spell slots. They don't have 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc.

What they get instead is a small number of spell slots and every spell they cast is cast at the highest level they are capable of casting.

So if they cast thunderwave and their highest casting tier is 3rd level, every time they cast thunder wave it is with its full effects as a 3rd level spell. As the warlock increases in level the tier of spells they cast their slots for increases, eventually capping at level 6.For spells that don't have increased effects when cast, like unseen servant, this is meaningless. For spells like thunderwave, which do increased damage when cast at higher tiers, it's a huge boost.
They have only a handful of slots for spells, which recharge after a short rest - another major difference between them and other casters.

Warlocks are weird, and it took me a couple readings not to be stupefied by the way they work. That said, I really came to like the mechanics once I understood them.
__________________
I took the road less traveled now where the hell am I? (Thanks Jhulae)
"I suppose a good death is better then bad roleplaying."
-#577 From The Canonical List of Famous Last Words
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2015, 05:14 PM
SigCorps's Avatar
SigCorps SigCorps is offline
Young Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 01-25-2016
RPXP: 99
SigCorps
Posts: 56
Ahh..so they only get 2 total slots at 5th level with a max spell level of 3. They can only cast 2 spells per "day" and then they get their invocations.
__________________
~SigCorps
I see no good reason to act my age.
We have enough youth...how about a fountain of smart
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2016, 05:11 AM
Peachyco Peachyco is offline
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-13-2017
RPXP: 3701
Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco
Posts: 1,860
Playing a Druid in a tabletop campaign, this question has been in my mind for a while. Don't worry - I haven't really tried pulling it off just yet 'coz I love the DM and don't wanna antagonize him.

QUESTIONSCan a Wild-Shaped Druid benefit from a short rest, granted that her Wild Shape can outlast the short rest (i.e. she can stay in beast form for more than an hour)?

If yes, how does the spending of Hit Dice and the recovery of spent Wild Shape uses work?


Some things to consider...
  1. Since Wild Shape doesn't strictly require concentration and doesn't interfere with concentration spells, it can be said that it is effortless and not strenuous.
  2. Magical healing in Wild Shape heals the beast form. Does healing from Hit Dice also heal only the beast form?
  3. The beast form may have a different type and amount of HD, as compared to the Druid's native form. Which one would be used, and how will the number of HD spent be tracked?
  4. If the Wild Shape ability is recharged, then the Druid can effectively walk with three Wild Shapes: the one she's currently wearing, and the two extra charges that got recharged by the short rest. This can get a bit crazy from 10th level of the Moon Druid, when elemental shapes come into play. Think Earth Elemental now, with another Air/Earth Elemental in my pocket.


I think this is a bit of a grey area rules-wise (or so I think), so opinions and experiences with tackling the matter are most welcome. ^_^
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2016, 03:42 PM
Aosaw's Avatar
Aosaw Aosaw is offline
The Grey Mage
Former Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 08-13-2019
RPXP: 8405
Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw
Posts: 10,114
Yes, you can stay in your beast form during your short rest. As for how this interacts with...

Recharged Uses - The description doesn't say anything about it, so I would say your assessment here is correct; you'd regain your spent use of the ability even though its effects are still active. The reason for this is that you don't spend the ability at the expiration of the ability's effect; you spend it when the ability is activated.

Hit Dice and Healing - Your instinct is correct; since your hit points and hit dice are replaced by the beast's, when you spend those hit dice during a short rest, you're spending the beast form's, not your own. At the same time, you're only healing the beast form's hit points, not your own.

What about long rests? - A level 18 druid can stay in beast form for 9 hours. So, if you really wanted to, you could use Wild Shape and then immediately take a long rest, and still be in your beast form for an hour after you wake up. But remember that the benefits of resting, with regard to healing in particular, will only affect your beast form.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2016, 09:37 PM
BB 3's Avatar
BB 3 BB 3 is offline
Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 01-25-2018
RPXP: 847
BB 3 BB 3 BB 3 BB 3 BB 3 BB 3 BB 3
Posts: 1,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aosaw View Post
What about long rests? - A level 18 druid can stay in beast form for 9 hours. So, if you really wanted to, you could use Wild Shape and then immediately take a long rest, and still be in your beast form for an hour after you wake up. But remember that the benefits of resting, with regard to healing in particular, will only affect your beast form.
Agree with everything said, except for a minor clarification that Mike Mearls confirmed that sleeping = unconscious, RAI. So I don't think you would be able to take a nap and stay in beast form. (all up to DM of course)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-07-2016, 09:49 AM
Aosaw's Avatar
Aosaw Aosaw is offline
The Grey Mage
Former Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 08-13-2019
RPXP: 8405
Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw Aosaw
Posts: 10,114
Ah, that's true. I missed that part of the Wild Shape description.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-10-2016, 02:01 AM
Peachyco Peachyco is offline
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-13-2017
RPXP: 3701
Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco
Posts: 1,860
Ha! Oh the power of the Druid! Now I can really have her take a rest in Elemental form so those sneaky assassins can't take her out with their poisoned daggers and stuff (the campaign is intrigue-heavy, much like GoT, with splashes of assassination attempts here and there). ^_^

The DM is so gonna hate me. My Druid has been messing up his gameplay a lot since the Barbarian and the Fighter always take his attention, allowing me to plot my Play of the Game from the sidelines. And now she can maintain Wild Shape during our short rests too (and we take a lot of those because... y'know, Fighter). Heeheeheehee...

Thanks for the responses!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-24-2016, 01:54 AM
Giot's Avatar
Giot Giot is offline
For the Glory of Tiamat!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 05-22-2020
RPXP: 5821
Giot Giot Giot Giot Giot Giot Giot Giot Giot Giot Giot
Posts: 3,976
I am about 99% sure I know the answer to this, but something is nagging at me saying I am missing something.

If I cast haste on myself, can I use the bonus action in that round?
__________________
Status: Working from home for the foreseeable future, welcome to the End Times!
Player: Kregan | Vera
DM: Xera
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-25-2016, 05:00 AM
Peachyco Peachyco is offline
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-13-2017
RPXP: 3701
Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco
Posts: 1,860
Yes, you can. You gain the special action on each of your turns, and this is still your turn. If it's meant otherwise, it might indicate, "on each of your turns after this one" or something similar.

Last edited by Peachyco; 08-22-2016 at 03:31 AM. Reason: Elaboration
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-19-2017, 09:58 PM
GallupsMirror's Avatar
GallupsMirror GallupsMirror is offline
A legend in my spare time
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 04-18-2020
RPXP: 4333
GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror GallupsMirror
Posts: 1,933
In days of yore, as I recall it, a spellcaster was required to have an 11 or higher in the associated ability score, where the second digit must equal or exceed the level of the spell to be cast. For instance, a wizard with a 12 INT could cast a 1st or 2nd wizard spell, but not a 3rd level wizard spell or higher. The idea was that the character wasn't smart (or wise, or charismatic) enough to wield the increasingly elaborate and more potent magic involved in higher level spells.

I don't see any such restriction in 5e. If that's true than a total nitwit 5e character with a 4 INT could cast a 9th level spell, with the only requisite being that s/he is high enough in class levels to have a 9th level spell slot. Is that correct or did I overlook a rule somewhere? If so, can you cite the book and page? Thanks.
__________________
right-aligned image
.
DM of The Siege of Ašnor's Reach ||||
Creator of 3D Combat Fudge |||| Designer of D&D Heretics
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-19-2017, 11:37 PM
Peachyco Peachyco is offline
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-13-2017
RPXP: 3701
Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco Peachyco
Posts: 1,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by GallupsMirror View Post
I don't see any such restriction in 5e. If that's true than a total nitwit 5e character with a 4 INT could cast a 9th level spell, with the only requisite being that s/he is high enough in class levels to have a 9th level spell slot. Is that correct or did I overlook a rule somewhere? If so, can you cite the book and page? Thanks.
You are very much correct. The only possible downside is the crazy low save DC for his/her spell saves. ^__^

EDIT: And I just remembered, the number of spells prepared can be affected by the spellcasting ability modifier.

Last edited by Peachyco; 03-20-2017 at 12:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.(© 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2020, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB