Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (3.5 and Pathfinder) - Page 7 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Discussions > Game Rules
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #91  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:14 PM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 06-20-2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
Question here. I think I remember some Barbarian abilities that can only be activated while raging, or "consume" rages (as divine metamagic and such). Can't think of any right now, but it hardly matters.
The question is, would casting the Rage spell qualify for such abilities?
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:18 PM
NEON725's Avatar
NEON725 NEON725 is offline
One of them
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-29-2016
RPXP: 1656
NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725
Posts: 4,937
I believe that technically speaking, raging refers to the barbarian's abilities, not a magically induced anger. Now, on the other hand, that's a very creative way for the paladin to buff certain players, and DMs usually reward such things. Still, it might be a bit overpowered, so your DM would have to approve it. (How many times has that been said here?)

Bottom line? Rules say no, but we all know DND is more than that.
__________________
"I'm signaturing that" - dirkoth
I'll take a chip... AND EAT IT! *dramatic music*
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:22 PM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 06-20-2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
Yeah. I was mostly saying it because the mechanical effects are roughly the same, minus the fatigue. And I think there's a feat to cancel the fatigue anyways.

It would be an interesting way of keeping the barbarian going. Specially if you make a gestalt barbarian/wizard who just prepares Rage in each and every slot.
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:29 PM
NEON725's Avatar
NEON725 NEON725 is offline
One of them
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-29-2016
RPXP: 1656
NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725
Posts: 4,937
You'd have to be a sorceror, Wizards are more composed than that. XD
__________________
"I'm signaturing that" - dirkoth
I'll take a chip... AND EAT IT! *dramatic music*
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 03-08-2010, 09:33 AM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 06-20-2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
Yeah, but a sorcerer would ruin the background. Sorcerers get more spells just because, and need not choose them. It would be virtually impossible for him to really do nothing else.
A wizard has to research them, so I can just say mine doesn't.
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 03-08-2010, 12:29 PM
NEON725's Avatar
NEON725 NEON725 is offline
One of them
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-29-2016
RPXP: 1656
NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725
Posts: 4,937
It's my house rule that so long as you follow the character creation rules, you can make up whatever reason you want for having it. A druid I know literally pulls magic out of nowhere and doesn't follow a deity. This is cool because the background (a dreamscape) allows for such nonsense. I also had a character design once that was a multiclass sorceror/paladin, and his divine spells were pulled from a demonic/sorcerous manifest. Basically whatever you can sneak into the game is cool, and roleplaying it with the proper personality and character growth wins bonus points in the end.
__________________
"I'm signaturing that" - dirkoth
I'll take a chip... AND EAT IT! *dramatic music*
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 03-08-2010, 12:56 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 04-03-2020
RPXP: 6598
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,369
You couldn't use the rage spell for that. Those abilities use "daily uses of the Rage ability", which is specifying the barbarian's rage ability.

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:58 PM
Admin Chuck's Avatar
Admin Chuck Admin Chuck is offline
Big Muscles
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 03-16-2020
RPXP: 36915
Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck
Posts: 17,440
Do the effects of Flurry of Blows and the Haste spell stack? I thought I remembered seeing somewhere that they don't, but I can't recall where or find it again.
__________________
Post of the Month! Go nominate someone!
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 03-16-2010, 05:19 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 04-03-2020
RPXP: 6598
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,369
Yes, they stack. Flurry of Blows is not a "speed effect", such as haste + speed weapon property (which don't stack).

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 03-16-2010, 05:44 PM
Admin Chuck's Avatar
Admin Chuck Admin Chuck is offline
Big Muscles
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 03-16-2020
RPXP: 36915
Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck Admin Chuck
Posts: 17,440
Thanks jj.
__________________
Post of the Month! Go nominate someone!
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 03-17-2010, 03:36 AM
GeoAvanti's Avatar
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti is offline
Werewolf of London
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 08-19-2019
RPXP: 14274
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti
Posts: 5,873
Is there a duration for the use of Diplomacy to alter an NPCs attitude?

The RAW reads that only the Fanatic state reverts to an "original" attitude after a set time, but there doesn't seem to be any similar rules on the SRD for duration of normal uses (Hostile <-> Helpful). Is it assumed to be permanent (barring further action by PC/Antagonists)?




Also, completely unrelated to DnD, why are 'Martial' and 'Marital' spelled so similarly? Is there any irony to draw from this, or am I simply mad?
__________________
Not dead. Which is a significant improvement over how I've felt for the past two months. Nurgle is a . . . very unpleasant fellow.

Last edited by GeoAvanti; 03-17-2010 at 03:39 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:17 AM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 06-20-2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
No, they are not magical effects, it lasts until it reverts for whatever reason. Only the fanatical runs out because it's an adrenaline rush or something.

Also, that joke is very very old, you know. For the record, "martial" stems from Mars, the roman god of war. Marital I think is from Mare, some daughter of Hestia, or something like that.
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 03-19-2010, 03:36 PM
GlueDuck's Avatar
GlueDuck GlueDuck is offline
License to Munchkin
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 06-27-2011
RPXP: 187
GlueDuck GlueDuck
Posts: 653
Hello! I'm completly new to both the game and this site and decided to try a few games as from what I've heard the queues for solo games are usually pretty long. I've been applying to a few games but haven't gotten in any yet. Now to my question, in some games I see people talking about ECL, which in my understanding is effective character level. Just to be sure I wanted to have some things clarified to me. Is it correct that ECL is only necessary when you use monsters as a PC and how is ECL calculated? Thanks for your help.
Edit: I have checked the explanation in the help section but I have some problems understanding it.

Post moved from Site Discussion > I'm Confused to Game Rules > Ask the Sage. - Toad`


-Grave

Last edited by Toad`; 03-19-2010 at 04:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 03-19-2010, 05:56 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 04-03-2020
RPXP: 6598
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,369
ECL can come various places, but usually it is from playing a monster or using a template.

ECL = LA + racial HD + class levels

ECL = Equivalent Character Level = power of character compared to another character using a base race and class.

LA = Level Adjustment = calculated power of special abilities and bonuses for game balance.

racial HD = Hit Dice originating from a creatures race (vs. levels)

class levels = levels in PC classes

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 03-19-2010, 11:14 PM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 06-20-2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
Got a question.
Assume I have a Fireball stored in a Sword of Spell Storing. Can I just wave the sword at the air and release the fireball in that direction? Or does it have to hit something (and thus scorch me)?
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2020, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB