Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions volume 7 (DnD 5e) - Page 5 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Discussions > Game Rules
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #61  
Old 01-11-2020, 10:53 AM
Goblin Man's Avatar
Goblin Man Goblin Man is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-29-2020
RPXP: 707
Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man
Posts: 778
Dear Sage,

I'm struggling with getting an overview/understanding which spells I can cast during a battle when holding a shield (with holy symbol) and a weapon in the other hand.

I'm unsure what the free interaction with an object in tandem with my action helps in this context?: When do I have to drop the weapon? when can I sheathe/stow it first?

Of course, I'm looking for a general understanding or a link to a comprehensive list or helpful online tool... but I currently play (here on this website) only a Half-Orc Life Cleric (lvl2) and a Hobgoblin Light Cleric (lvl1).

They don't have the warcaster feat yet. Also no component pouch but only(!) a holy symbol on the shield.

Currently my two clerics can cast the following spells and my best bet how the spell component affects the casting/weapon is indicated next to them. Is this about right?:

-Healing Word, Fairy Fire
V-- no problem

-Guidance, Sacred Flame, Cure Wounds, Guiding Bolt, Till the Dead:
VS -- free hand needed, so stow weapon before casting. So I can't do opportunity attacks until drawing the weapon again on my turn but at least I don't have to drop the weapon to the ground, right?

Burning Hands:
VS-- two hands needed in a special way according to spell description. So I can't cast it while holding a shield.

-Bless, Sanctuary, Bane:
VSM -- don't need free hand because holy symbol on shield

-Resistance:
VSM -- description says I need to touch a creature. Can I do this when holding shield and spear?

PS: I'm aware that I likely won't cast Guidance/Resistance during a battle.

I think I understand that
-I need a whole action to doff a shield
-the holy symbol (shield) replaces material components (M) if they aren't consumed/costly
-I can use the shield to 'perform' the somatic component (S) only if the spell also has a material component (M). Otherwise I need a free hand. (Or the warcaster feat).
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 01-13-2020, 11:34 AM
Gaijin's Avatar
Gaijin Gaijin is offline
Σ͑͒͌̏̍͞҉̻͎̙͈̯͔͖̟
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 9396
Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin
Posts: 6,739
In an exchange with Jeremy Crawford, the following was established.

Jeremy Crawford
"The intent is that the shield hand can be used for a somatic component if the holy shield is used to cast the spell.

~Twitter


Thus, if your spell allows you to use the Shield as an spell-casting focus, it also satisfies the somatic component. [Giddeon Strongbow raises his shield aloft (somatic) and it glows with divine light (material), shedding waves of healing energy upon the party.]



As for the specific spell description of burning hands, as a DM, I wouldn't personally get too caught up in the details. Somatic components are somatic components, and everyone discovers their own way of casting spells. The important thing to preserve is that somatic components require the hand performing the somatic components to be unrestrained.

Though yes, technically the description of the spell requires two free hands to cast.



As for sheathing a weapon: Yes, the Cleric can sheath a weapon as an Object Interaction to cast a spell such as Guiding Bolt.
Note: They will not be able to take attacks of opportunity with the weapon until they draw the weapon again.


Edit: Sorry for the messy response.

For spells like Resistance, "touching" can be considered part of the somatic component, so you can certainly use your shield to touch your target, so long as the spell also calls for a material component, enabling use of the holy symbol shield.

Warcaster makes this much less of a headache.
__________________
>The Workshop: Tablemancy, Formatting, Tools
Posting Status: Slow (Moving during a quarantine/revolution/apocalypse. Patience is appreciated.)

Last edited by Gaijin; 01-13-2020 at 11:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 01-14-2020, 01:26 AM
Goblin Man's Avatar
Goblin Man Goblin Man is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-29-2020
RPXP: 707
Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man Goblin Man
Posts: 778
Honestly I was wondering quite some time if Jeremy Crawford talks only about VSM spells or also VS spells until I realized that the holy shield/symbol is only used to cast the spell if it has a material (component), otherwise a holy symbol can't be used to cast the spell. I wasn't clear about that too.

Regarding Burning Hands, ya, I will ask my DM!

I have to apologise for the messy question. But it is/was a big mess in my head. (It will get even more complicated when I multiclass to Wizard after reaching level 2 ... )

Thanks a lot.

Last edited by Goblin Man; 01-14-2020 at 01:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 10-13-2020, 03:34 AM
TADHG's Avatar
TADHG TADHG is offline
Descent Gaming Bradenton
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 1431
TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG
Posts: 769
7Here's a question: one of the party members has a familiar. Which isn't an animal, but a fiend. As DM, the effect needed to Plane Shift the entire party [those within a certain area of the door when the spell glyph was triggered.] Does the familiar get transported as well, assuming it was perched on the wizard's shoulder, or does it return to its home? I honestly am not sure. If I had to call it, I'd say that the wizard needs to cast this spell again. But I'd rather get a ruling... so it's not just me saying it.

Maybe Plane Shift isn't meant to work that way, but it's the McGuffin moving the story to a new place, so I kinda wanted the whole party.
__________________
It doesn't even matter.

Last edited by TADHG; 10-13-2020 at 06:51 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 10-13-2020, 10:04 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-29-2020
RPXP: 6863
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,466
The familiar would get transported to the same place as everyone else. The spell only specified 'creature', nothing I could see set fiend or any other type apart.

-me
__________________
Ugh
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 10-15-2020, 04:32 AM
TADHG's Avatar
TADHG TADHG is offline
Descent Gaming Bradenton
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 1431
TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG
Posts: 769
This is the quoted portion: "IF the target is a Huge or smaller creature, it must succeed on a Strength contest...or be pulled up to 20 feet"

How do I work that out in gameplay? Each combatant rolls d20 and adds strength bonus? And then 5' for every point difference up to 20'? Or do I use the raw stats, and simply compare those? The creature has an 18 STR score, and a +4 bonus.
__________________
It doesn't even matter.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 10-15-2020, 08:23 AM
Imveros's Avatar
Imveros Imveros is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 33695
Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros
Posts: 10,396
That looks like a typo to me.

I'd say it's supposed to be a strength save and if they fail against the ability DC then they get pulled
__________________
RPGX Tug of War wants YOU!
Enlist Today!!!
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10-16-2020, 02:15 AM
TADHG's Avatar
TADHG TADHG is offline
Descent Gaming Bradenton
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 1431
TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG
Posts: 769
I've got another dumb question.

A character's or creature's Passive Perception score is used as a DC when determining Stealth (or Hide) checks? That has not yet come up, but it could. Hungry monsters wouldn't constantly be rolling Perception checks every time a mouse scurried by. Or even when characters are simply walking around in the labyrinthine passages found in a dungeon or other adventuring area. It would only be used if a character attempted to sneak by a monster, or a monster tried to sneak by them. (By the way, none of them are rogues, so I have doubts that any of them chose that particular proficiency.)
__________________
It doesn't even matter.

Last edited by TADHG; 10-16-2020 at 02:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10-16-2020, 05:25 AM
Menzo's Avatar
Menzo Menzo is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 415
Menzo Menzo Menzo Menzo Menzo
Posts: 97
In 5e, that is correct. It is used as the DC of characters' Stealth or Hide checks. I don't know about Pathfinder.

If the characters are just casually strolling around and chatting, then there would have to be environmental or situational reasons why creatures wouldn't realise they're there.

Last edited by Menzo; 10-16-2020 at 05:28 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 10-16-2020, 02:00 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-29-2020
RPXP: 6863
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,466
Quote:
Originally Posted by TADHG View Post
This is the quoted portion: "IF the target is a Huge or smaller creature, it must succeed on a Strength contest...or be pulled up to 20 feet"

How do I work that out in gameplay? Each combatant rolls d20 and adds strength bonus? And then 5' for every point difference up to 20'? Or do I use the raw stats, and simply compare those? The creature has an 18 STR score, and a +4 bonus.
Is this still about the plane shift spell?
I don't see that in there.

-me
__________________
Ugh
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 10-18-2020, 06:12 AM
TADHG's Avatar
TADHG TADHG is offline
Descent Gaming Bradenton
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 1431
TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG TADHG
Posts: 769
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj_wolven View Post
Is this still about the plane shift spell?
I don't see that in there.

-me
No, this is about the merrow's Harpoon attack. Though I'm playing in Ravnica, a merrow seems somehow appropriate to the Simic Combine...and I might have it as an encounter. Then again, maybe the Simic Combine has the merrow imprisoned, and he wouldn't have access to the harpoon attack to begin with. Hmm...
__________________
It doesn't even matter.
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 10-21-2020, 03:52 PM
Astra's Avatar
Astra Astra is online now
Some Believe in Magic
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 4320
Astra Astra Astra Astra Astra Astra Astra Astra Astra Astra Astra
Posts: 1,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by TADHG View Post
This is the quoted portion: "IF the target is a Huge or smaller creature, it must succeed on a Strength contest...or be pulled up to 20 feet"

How do I work that out in gameplay? Each combatant rolls d20 and adds strength bonus? And then 5' for every point difference up to 20'? Or do I use the raw stats, and simply compare those? The creature has an 18 STR score, and a +4 bonus.
Pretty sure the way to resolve this is for each creature to roll 1d20 + STR mod, and if the target fails the check they get pulled 20 feet unless they are closer to the Merrow in which case they just get pulled right to the Merrow.

So for example if you are 40 feet away and the Merrow rolls 17 but you roll a 20, you are not pulled. If the Merrow rolls a 17 and you roll a 16, you get pulled 20 feet towards it. If you are 10 feet away, the Merrow rolls a 17 and you roll a 3, then you only get pulled 10 feet.

Last edited by Astra; 10-21-2020 at 03:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 10-21-2020, 04:16 PM
Ziether's Avatar
Ziether Ziether is online now
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-31-2020
RPXP: 12043
Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether Ziether
Posts: 7,346
As Astra states, "up to X feet" without further explanation usually means that the maximum value is the given number, with a target less than X feet away not getting pulled past the creature, and a target more than X feet away not getting pulled all the way to adjacent.

Last edited by Ziether; 10-21-2020 at 04:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:41 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2020, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB