OOC Charlie Squad Communications - Page 9 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Games > Pathfinder: 1e > To Be Fearful of the Knight > Charlie Squad
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #121  
Old Apr 9th, 2014, 06:00 PM
Adamah Adamah is offline
New Member
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 2nd, 2014
RPXP: 363
Adamah Adamah Adamah Adamah
Posts: 514
Well he gets to act, just not until the ambushers do. As soon as tayrren acts they'll go
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old Apr 9th, 2014, 11:02 PM
ManicMonky's Avatar
ManicMonky ManicMonky is offline
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 21st, 2022
RPXP: 4008
ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky ManicMonky
Posts: 6,499
Sounds good to me. There isn't much else he would have done with a standard action anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old Apr 9th, 2014, 11:06 PM
Vaerdis's Avatar
Vaerdis Vaerdis is offline
Rules of Paradise
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 29th, 2023
RPXP: 7891
Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis
Posts: 9,207
Shoot off a bolt from a crossbow or start a bardic performance.
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old Apr 10th, 2014, 01:27 PM
Ysolde's Avatar
Ysolde Ysolde is offline
Pony Princess
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 25th, 2023
RPXP: 26148
Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde Ysolde
Posts: 11,964
I went with Magic Missile, she can move closer after that and use some "Hand of The apprentice" seven times.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old Apr 10th, 2014, 04:33 PM
Vaerdis's Avatar
Vaerdis Vaerdis is offline
Rules of Paradise
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 29th, 2023
RPXP: 7891
Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis
Posts: 9,207
Before I post how did an attack of 12 hit an AC of 14? Or even if flat footed Alain's AC is still 12 so the arrow wouldn't hit...that is of course if DC rules are being applied to AC right now
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old Apr 10th, 2014, 05:05 PM
Adamah Adamah is offline
New Member
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 2nd, 2014
RPXP: 363
Adamah Adamah Adamah Adamah
Posts: 514
You were flat footed because you had not acted yet in the combat, to hit you they need to equal your AC, which was 12 because of your flat footedness.

I'm totally cool with going over rulings though, so thanks for asking and if anyone else see's me doing anything wrong please bring it up with me. Also if I'm somehow missing something from my analysis up there feel free to give me a link to the rule that I'm missing.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old Apr 10th, 2014, 05:11 PM
Vaerdis's Avatar
Vaerdis Vaerdis is offline
Rules of Paradise
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 29th, 2023
RPXP: 7891
Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis
Posts: 9,207
Thanks for the clarification, and those compound bows hurt.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 04:46 PM
kaylara's Avatar
kaylara kaylara is offline
The hidden treasure
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 10th, 2023
RPXP: 20493
kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara
Posts: 19,340
Nice rolling... do that again and well be making new characters lol..

Hopefully they pull thru, Iyani was saving her money for mithril.. that might help her ac a bit better than leather

If they win, they can retire with all the gold we have on us lol

They had to knock out the music first....

Last edited by kaylara; Apr 11th, 2014 at 04:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 04:48 PM
Adamah Adamah is offline
New Member
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 2nd, 2014
RPXP: 363
Adamah Adamah Adamah Adamah
Posts: 514
Haha I know, right? I have faith you guys can pull through.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 04:50 PM
kaylara's Avatar
kaylara kaylara is offline
The hidden treasure
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 10th, 2023
RPXP: 20493
kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara kaylara
Posts: 19,340
About to put up fog then use last 3 channelings, then we run hehe
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 05:12 PM
Adamah Adamah is offline
New Member
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 2nd, 2014
RPXP: 363
Adamah Adamah Adamah Adamah
Posts: 514
Sometimes discretion is the better part of valor
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 05:31 PM
Vaerdis's Avatar
Vaerdis Vaerdis is offline
Rules of Paradise
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 29th, 2023
RPXP: 7891
Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis
Posts: 9,207
I think you overpowered the encounter a bit with our one and only combat character having to do all the legwork xD
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 05:38 PM
Adamah Adamah is offline
New Member
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 2nd, 2014
RPXP: 363
Adamah Adamah Adamah Adamah
Posts: 514
Yea it's CR 3, I designed it to be a hard punch in the face. One way or another I'm confidant you guys can overcome, be creative. Remember, their goal is to attack you and take your stuff, your goal is to get to the next town alive.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 05:44 PM
Vaerdis's Avatar
Vaerdis Vaerdis is offline
Rules of Paradise
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 29th, 2023
RPXP: 7891
Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis Vaerdis
Posts: 9,207
Sucks that my only move to get into spell range nearly caused Alain to die instantly....doesn't the middle archer have a penalty for shooting past his friend? It doesn't matter much in this case but I thought there was a rule about that...or maybe that was just when someone is in melee.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old Apr 11th, 2014, 06:17 PM
Adamah Adamah is offline
New Member
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 2nd, 2014
RPXP: 363
Adamah Adamah Adamah Adamah
Posts: 514
How dare you make me look up a complicated rules explanation after presenting an appellate oral argument this morning!

Haha, jk, you actually asked a really good question, and I'm glad you did because it's helped my understanding of this rule immensely.

The short answer is that you're right about creatures providing cover, but wrong about this particular situation. But it was a very close thing.

It all comes down to the precise wording of the rule.

Cover
Cover
To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).


Looking at the rule, I've bolded the important distinction. Note the yellow lines drawn below. The rule states if any line from the chosen corner passes through a "square or border" that blocks line of effect or provide cover, the target has cover. It further goes on to say if the line passes through any "square" (note, not square or border) occupied by a creature, the target has cover.

In your case the line passes through an intervening creature's border, but not it's square. Thus you are not provided with cover.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:21 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB