Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions volume 6 (5e) - Page 4 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Discussions > Game Rules
twitter facebook
0 6 2 5
... raised for charity!
: +

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #46  
Old 11-04-2019, 02:40 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Juvenile Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 119
Librarian Librarian
Posts: 40
Hi there! Quick question:

The Hexblade Warlock class feature "Hex Warrior" states: "If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type." Does this override the earlier qualification "one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property" or are hexblade still restricted to 1h weapons when using this feature?

Thanks!

Last edited by Librarian; 11-04-2019 at 02:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 11-04-2019, 04:26 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is online now
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 6394
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,307
Not necessarily. You would need another feature that specifies you can summon a different pact weapon. If there is nothing, then the same restrictions still apply.

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 11-04-2019, 04:37 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Juvenile Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 119
Librarian Librarian
Posts: 40
I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "another feature that specifies you can summon a different pact weapon." As I understand it, the Pact ability allows you to create and summon any melee weapon.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 11-04-2019, 04:43 PM
Imveros's Avatar
Imveros Imveros is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 20896
Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros
Posts: 7,316
Base pact of the blade let's you summon any melee weapon.

Improved pact weapon allows you to summon ranged weapons.

The ability itself includes the overrides needed for two handed Cha attacks and for Cha based heavy crossbow attacks. Who needs EB am I right?
__________________
Tug of War needs YOU!
Enlist Today!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 11-04-2019, 04:59 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Juvenile Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 119
Librarian Librarian
Posts: 40
lol I think what you're saying is that a Hexblade Pact of the Blade can wield a greatsword (summoned with their pact ability) and get his +CHA to hit and damage?

Last edited by Librarian; 11-04-2019 at 05:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 11-04-2019, 05:15 PM
Imveros's Avatar
Imveros Imveros is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 20896
Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros
Posts: 7,316
I always use a Glaive myself, but yes, that's exactly what I'm saying. You see builds for it all the time. It's honestly the only thing that makes pact of the blade any good. Especially considering that pact of the chain can give you shillelagh cantrip which would let you have a one-handed cha hit/damage weapon without hexblade or pact of the blade!

You can also add elven accuracy to your darkness/devil's sight cheese to max the crit fishing for double damage on those smites
__________________
Tug of War needs YOU!
Enlist Today!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11-05-2019, 03:55 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is online now
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 6394
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,307
I just went to the srd to check, but did not see the original limitation you mentioned (1H).

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-06-2019, 09:48 AM
Auron3991 Auron3991 is offline
Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 2106
Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991
Posts: 466
So, just something I was wondering:

Control Flames (XGtE pg.152) states that you can expand any non-magical fire 5ft provided there is fuel present in the new location. Now, given that a lit candle is non-magical and clothing made of natural materials tends to burn, does that mean someone could run around with a candle and use Control Flames to light cloth-wearing enemies on fire?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11-06-2019, 02:56 PM
Gaijin's Avatar
Gaijin Gaijin is online now
Σ͑͒͌̏̍͞҉̻͎̙͈̯͔͖̟
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 8961
Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin
Posts: 6,603
Edited for clarity (After jj_wolven's following post.)

RAI - No.
  • Worn items are generally protected from direct attacks unless otherwise stated.
  • Cantrips are not intended to replicate other cantrips, or higher level abilities.

RAW - No*.

*The phrasing is ambiguous, but a reasonable interpretation should suffice.

The entry for the spell specifies "Fuel" as opposed to merely "flammable objects". "Fuel" consists of things that are collectively used with the "intent to produce heat", such as oil, wood, paper, etc.

While clean fabrics such as cotton and linen are relatively flammable, other common materials like wool are actually noted for being fire-retardant, so it would take very little for an able-bodied enemy to negate the burning before it could take hold.
__________________
>The Workshop: Tablemancy, Formatting, Tools<
{As Featured in Explosive Runes #24!}
"The enemy of knowledge is not ignorance; it is the illusion of knowledge."

Last edited by Gaijin; 11-06-2019 at 05:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11-06-2019, 04:53 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is online now
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 6394
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,307
You can expand the fire, not transfer. You would need to hold the candle against the person's clothes, then cast the spell to extend it to the 'new' fuel.
It would not work with an attack - you wouldn't be holding the flame against the clothing long enough.
A saving throw might be allowed, but it would be pretty easy since they just need to break contact.

If they are immobile, then I would allow it.

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 11-07-2019, 11:41 AM
Treble83's Avatar
Treble83 Treble83 is online now
Royal Lion
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 978
Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83
Posts: 763
Ear for Deceit
When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you develop a keen ear for picking out lies. Whenever you make a Wisdom (Insight) check to determine whether a creature is lying, treat a roll of 7 or lower on the d20 as an 8.


Should/Does this rule apply to Natural 1's? Cards on the table... I had a RL GM that was a bit of a stickler and his ruling was NO: It would not and should not because a natural 1 indicates a critical failure, no matter your skill level.
__________________
I have taken the Oath of Sangus
You call it paranoia, I call it situational awareness
Posting Status: ACTIVE
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 11-07-2019, 11:46 AM
Gaijin's Avatar
Gaijin Gaijin is online now
Σ͑͒͌̏̍͞҉̻͎̙͈̯͔͖̟
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 8961
Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin
Posts: 6,603
The idea of "Critical Failures" is a common house rule that doesn't actually exist in 5e.

If the DM is running with a "Critical Failure" house rule, then that's the rule for the table, and if there is a dispute, it should be understood as such.


Personally, if Critical Failures are on the table, I would always leave them as an option. There is always a chance that a character simply has a bad day (Or got a bit of troll in their ear that they forgot to clean out).

However, your DM may be willing to compromise with a penalized "Confirm Failure" roll to account for Ear of Deceit's benefits. (Another house rule)
__________________
>The Workshop: Tablemancy, Formatting, Tools<
{As Featured in Explosive Runes #24!}
"The enemy of knowledge is not ignorance; it is the illusion of knowledge."

Last edited by Gaijin; 11-07-2019 at 11:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 11-07-2019, 12:03 PM
Treble83's Avatar
Treble83 Treble83 is online now
Royal Lion
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 978
Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83
Posts: 763
Sort of a follow on question... Is "Critical Failure on NAT 1 & Critical Success on NAT 20" assumed to be the standard on RPGX unless otherwise stated or is the opposite true?
__________________
I have taken the Oath of Sangus
You call it paranoia, I call it situational awareness
Posting Status: ACTIVE
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 11-07-2019, 12:13 PM
Gaijin's Avatar
Gaijin Gaijin is online now
Σ͑͒͌̏̍͞҉̻͎̙͈̯͔͖̟
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 8961
Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin
Posts: 6,603
I don't know about "assumed". It really depends on your DM.

Some games are more Mechanics Driven, while others more Story Driven.

If it matters to you, it is always an option to ask before the campaign starts. Most DMs are receptive to making or changing rules before a campaign starts, so long as everyone is on the same page from Day 0.
__________________
>The Workshop: Tablemancy, Formatting, Tools<
{As Featured in Explosive Runes #24!}
"The enemy of knowledge is not ignorance; it is the illusion of knowledge."

Last edited by Gaijin; 11-07-2019 at 12:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 11-07-2019, 01:31 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is online now
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-09-2019
RPXP: 6394
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,307
Outside of houserules, criticals success or failure has never been a rule with skill.
RAW in most systems, they only apply to attacks and saving throws.

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2019, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB