OOC Surwall - South of the Wall - Page 14 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Games > Pathfinder: 1e > Far From Home
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #196  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 01:43 AM
VPA_Shadow00's Avatar
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 3rd, 2020
RPXP: 879
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00
Posts: 2,043
I pushed my way through all the dice rolling stuff things tonight, but I'm beat, I'll finish my post tomorrow night after my Composition class.

DMing combat is haaard.
__________________
Pronouns: He / Him
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 09:07 AM
Aitrus's Avatar
Aitrus Aitrus is offline
Divinely Inspired
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 4th, 2013
RPXP: 954
Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus
Posts: 1,073
Shouldn't Mayarc's dog have manifested in Round 2?
__________________
"If at first you don't succeed, redefine success" - Anonymous
"Education is what you get when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get when you don't." - Pete Seeger
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 09:10 AM
VPA_Shadow00's Avatar
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 3rd, 2020
RPXP: 879
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00
Posts: 2,043
I thought you split the summoning spell into two standard actions over two rounds rather than one full round action over one round?

Because if the first is true it would manifest during your turn in the second round, but if the latter was true it would have manifested during the first round.
__________________
Pronouns: He / Him
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 11:00 AM
Aitrus's Avatar
Aitrus Aitrus is offline
Divinely Inspired
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 4th, 2013
RPXP: 954
Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus
Posts: 1,073
I did, but I thought that the move and start of the spell happened in Round 1. "Mayarc runs and hides in a tree like a coward, and wiggles his fingers."

That would mean that the spell finished during Mayarc's Round 2 turn. Unless I'm mistaken, the only way he could have finished the spell in Round 1 would be if he hadn't moved at all. The reason I mention it is because I didn't see anything about it in your Round 2 post.
__________________
"If at first you don't succeed, redefine success" - Anonymous
"Education is what you get when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get when you don't." - Pete Seeger

Last edited by Aitrus; Apr 7th, 2011 at 11:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 11:04 AM
VPA_Shadow00's Avatar
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 3rd, 2020
RPXP: 879
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00
Posts: 2,043
Ohhhhkay.

Mayarc was in the tree by the end of the Surprise Round? (What you're calling the first round) So he should have been finished with his spell at the end of the First Round? (What you're calling the second round?)

I think you're right. Are you?
__________________
Pronouns: He / Him
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 11:11 AM
Aitrus's Avatar
Aitrus Aitrus is offline
Divinely Inspired
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 4th, 2013
RPXP: 954
Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus
Posts: 1,073
I was considering Round 1 the first normal round. Mayarc's Initiative wasn't high enough to move in the Surprise Round.

Here's how I thought it went:
Surprise Round: Mayarc says "WTF?"
Round 1: Mayarc moves cowardly, wiggles fingers like an idiot.
Round 2: Mayarc finishes spell, Dog manifests.
Round 3: Dog charges, Mayarc does more finger wiggling. (still to be posted)

If you're considering Round 1 to be the Surprise Round, then my timeline is off by a round.
__________________
"If at first you don't succeed, redefine success" - Anonymous
"Education is what you get when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get when you don't." - Pete Seeger

Last edited by Aitrus; Apr 7th, 2011 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 02:17 PM
Thamewolf's Avatar
Thamewolf Thamewolf is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 23rd, 2014
RPXP: 6850
Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf
Posts: 5,070
Lol
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 05:19 PM
WildKnight's Avatar
WildKnight WildKnight is offline
Mature Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 18th, 2011
RPXP: 247
WildKnight WildKnight WildKnight
Posts: 333
You know that Mayarc can still act in Round 2 (using your posted timeline). If your spell is a Full Round Action, you can't do anything else (except 5 foot step) that round, but the next round you can still take a Move & Standard (or Full Round) Action. The dog will attack the nearest enemy, you don't have to expend actions to make it do its thing 4E style.
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 06:18 PM
Aitrus's Avatar
Aitrus Aitrus is offline
Divinely Inspired
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 4th, 2013
RPXP: 954
Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus Aitrus
Posts: 1,073
Thanks WK. I hadn't realized that.

Hey guys, as Thame has so astutely noticed, I'm not firm on all the nuances regarding spellcasting in a PnP setting. Please bear with me (or sit back and have a good laugh at my expense) as I learn the ropes. And if you have suggestions, by all means, please let me know.
__________________
"If at first you don't succeed, redefine success" - Anonymous
"Education is what you get when you read the fine print. Experience is what you get when you don't." - Pete Seeger

Last edited by Aitrus; Apr 7th, 2011 at 06:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old Apr 7th, 2011, 11:38 PM
Thamewolf's Avatar
Thamewolf Thamewolf is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 23rd, 2014
RPXP: 6850
Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf
Posts: 5,070
What have I astutely noticed? I must not have noticed myself noticing...
Oh, my "Lol"
I was laughing at your descriptions: "Mayarc says 'WTF'," "Mayarc moves cowardly, wiggles fingers like an idiot." Funny stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old Apr 9th, 2011, 12:51 PM
VPA_Shadow00's Avatar
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 3rd, 2020
RPXP: 879
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00
Posts: 2,043
That placeholder I created the other day, well, it no longer exists. I went and edited the post to wrap up the first round and begin the second.
__________________
Pronouns: He / Him
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old Apr 9th, 2011, 02:24 PM
Thamewolf's Avatar
Thamewolf Thamewolf is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 23rd, 2014
RPXP: 6850
Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf
Posts: 5,070
I'm a bit confused about turn-taking still. Perhaps you could put an OOC note that says who can post now at the end of the map updates?
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old Apr 9th, 2011, 03:59 PM
VPA_Shadow00's Avatar
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 3rd, 2020
RPXP: 879
VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00 VPA_Shadow00
Posts: 2,043
Everyone may act for the second round now, all npc's except those engaged with opponents with of higher Initiative (i.e. the orc Luke is fighting)
__________________
Pronouns: He / Him

Last edited by VPA_Shadow00; Apr 9th, 2011 at 03:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old Apr 9th, 2011, 04:59 PM
Thamewolf's Avatar
Thamewolf Thamewolf is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 23rd, 2014
RPXP: 6850
Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf Thamewolf
Posts: 5,070
Ok, thanks. Didn't think it would matter much if I went ahead, but I thought I'd check and make sure before assuming.
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old Apr 9th, 2011, 08:03 PM
Gargleblaster's Avatar
Gargleblaster Gargleblaster is offline
Slice Of Lemon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 9th, 2012
RPXP: 912
Gargleblaster Gargleblaster Gargleblaster Gargleblaster Gargleblaster Gargleblaster Gargleblaster Gargleblaster
Posts: 279
I'm assuming (with init 19) that I got to act in the surprise round, so

Surprise round: strength check
Round 1; holding breath (fort save) and unsuccessful escape artist check
Round 2; my last post, escape artist check DC13 (?success or not after initial strength check)

If I have the order/timing wrong let me know and I will adjust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB