Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (3.5 and Pathfinder) - Page 161 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Discussions > Game Rules
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #2401  
Old 09-25-2018, 06:42 AM
Auron3991 Auron3991 is offline
Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-23-2020
RPXP: 2263
Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991
Posts: 523
Tenser's Floating Disk questions:

1. How does it handle forces from directions other than up, such as someone pressing on it from beneath? Does it count all forces against the weight limit or would it track them separately?

2. How does it handle instantaneous forces, such as a weapon strike? I would assume a Great Wyrm Dragon striking a TFD from a Lv 1 would exceed weight capacity, but game mechanics don't seem to provide options for this.
Reply With Quote
  #2402  
Old 09-25-2018, 10:25 AM
DAquilina's Avatar
DAquilina DAquilina is online now
Groom'd
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-24-2020
RPXP: 14312
DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina
Posts: 6,764
It doesn't specify defenses or HP or anything, so I'm not sure it can be destroyed by trauma. I'd argue that if it gets pushed or attacked it would get knocked back then slowly make its back back into place.

So to your first question, I guess it depends on what the caster had in mind. Did they cast it upside down to try and plug a hole? Did they try to use it to prevent a door from being opened? Are they trying to lift the stuff onto a ledge? The way I would rule it is that by default it's cast pointing up and can carry the specified amount. Forces from other directions affect it as if it were a weight magnet that gets pulled to the correct location over a period relative to the force applied.

At the end of the day I'd say it comes down to DM fiat, or whatever makes sense in the game, but I would applaud creative uses instead of trying to prevent them, as it makes the game more interesting. Maybe when the wyrm strikes it it spins and flings whatever it's holding everywhere before eventually resetting, and there are rules for damaging items that could come into play.

As to the weight capacity, there doesn't seem to be an indication as to what happens when you go over, but I assume it sinks to the ground and becomes unable to move.
__________________
Way of the Wicked | Severed Bonds
See something you like? Nominate it for Post of the Month!
I have taken the Oath of Sangus
Reply With Quote
  #2403  
Old 09-25-2018, 10:28 AM
DAquilina's Avatar
DAquilina DAquilina is online now
Groom'd
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-24-2020
RPXP: 14312
DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina
Posts: 6,764
@Dirkoth: To your question, I'm not sure there's a clear answer one way the other. I tried to look for existing rulings but none of them mention that use case.
__________________
Way of the Wicked | Severed Bonds
See something you like? Nominate it for Post of the Month!
I have taken the Oath of Sangus
Reply With Quote
  #2404  
Old 09-25-2018, 05:33 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-22-2020
RPXP: 6548
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,348
dirkoth, you are correct that it does not have enough clarity.
Does this spell destroy the ground underneath the wizard if it is cast normally?
The spell specifies the bottom half is 'usually' occluded by the ground. Otherwise the mage would be standing on the sphere - layer of ground destroyed > gravity pushes what the mages is standing on down > that layer is destroyed > etc.
How is "floor surface" defined in this instance?
In the instance of the stairs?
I think that 'floor surface' is defined by the mind of the mage.

As with many of these, it will depend on the GM and/or discussion with the GM. Are spells arcane formulae that have an exact effect everytime? Do they have any adjustment to the casters will? Can the caster make small adjustments (this is the one I allow) with Spellcraft checks?

-----
For floating disk, I would refer to wall of force as a starting point, and 'tricks' as a supplemental.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wall of Force
...A wall of force can be damaged by spells as normal, except for disintegrate, which automatically destroys it. It can be damaged by weapons and supernatural abilities, but a wall of force has hardness 30 and a number of hit points equal to 20 per caster level. Contact with a sphere of annihilation or rod of cancellation instantly destroys a wall of force...
Shorthand: hardness 30, 20hp/caster level.
It is a lower levels spell, so GM might rule 20/10.

At caster level 5, a dragon would need to do 130 damage to destroy it in one hit.

As for holding power when pushed up...the base would be the same 100 lbs/caster level. If gravity changed, the spell still theoretically supports the same. If the GM uses normal physics on top of magic physics, any weight currently held by the disk on the other side would add to what needed to be lifted.

Overweight, I would also assume it drops to the ground.

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #2405  
Old 09-25-2018, 06:57 PM
Admin Dirk's Avatar
Admin Dirk Admin Dirk is online now
Next year is Tampa!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-24-2020
RPXP: 61022
Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk Admin Dirk
Posts: 48,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Auron3991 View Post
Tenser's Floating Disk questions:

1. How does it handle forces from directions other than up, such as someone pressing on it from beneath? Does it count all forces against the weight limit or would it track them separately?

2. How does it handle instantaneous forces, such as a weapon strike? I would assume a Great Wyrm Dragon striking a TFD from a Lv 1 would exceed weight capacity, but game mechanics don't seem to provide options for this.
No good rules, and I wouldn't want to make is such an invulnerable piece of shaped force by saying it ignores strikes and efforts to move, but it implies that it does.

In pathfinder, there are some tricks you can do (riding it, using it as a shield, etc.), so there are SOME movements and actions it can do, beside float along behind you.

In general, I would say that it handles forces from above and below without disturbance up to the limit of weight (by caster level). Ie, a bird landing on it wouldn't make it move, a dragon landing on it, would. Same for something gushing up below... no effect until the force exerted would be enough to lift the maximum weight allowance (regardless of actual weight in the disk), at which point, it would lift (exceed three foot from the floor) and dissipate.

Same for a sword blow, mace, etc.. You might tip over a low level casting, but not a higher level casting.
__________________
One more week: Can Dirk stay nice to Squeak?
Philatalist? PM me/Got a buck? Get my book./Remember the Post of the Month Contest
Reply With Quote
  #2406  
Old 01-14-2020, 10:54 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-24-2020
RPXP: 269
Librarian Librarian Librarian
Posts: 116
Hi everyone! Quick PF rules question here about totemic druids. Their altered Wild Shape ability states that they can turn into their non-totem animal at -2 level and into their totem at +2. I just want to make sure I understand this correctly. Is the over-all wild shape ability delayed until 6 or do druids still get it at 4 and the alteration only starts taking effect at 6?
I answered my own question but since no one got to it in time I'm replacing it. Do druids using the Goliath archetype progress their standard wild shape as normal, only substituting giant forms for elemental and plant shape? The entry for Wild Shape under Goliath doesn't mention gaining Huge, Large, Tiny, or Diminutive animals.

Last edited by Librarian; 01-15-2020 at 11:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2407  
Old 01-17-2020, 01:50 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-22-2020
RPXP: 6548
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,348
The only animals allowed are dinosaurs and megafauna. The size allowed is based on the original progression.
Dinosaur: Med - 4th, Small/Large - 6th, Dim/Huge - 8th.
Megafauna: Small/Med - 8th, Large - 10th, Huge - 12th

The rest of their wildshape is humanoid sizes, using the giant shape.

-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy
Reply With Quote
  #2408  
Old 02-16-2020, 12:06 AM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-24-2020
RPXP: 269
Librarian Librarian Librarian
Posts: 116
My interpretation of this article here is that thrush and raven familiars can use wands without an extra feat. If they want to wear rings or gloves, they have to take the Extra Item feat. Is this a correct interpretation?
__________________
Oh, look! So that's how you do signatures.
Reply With Quote
  #2409  
Old 02-16-2020, 08:41 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-22-2020
RPXP: 6548
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,348
Thrush and raven familiars can carry wands, but they cannot use them:
Quote:
No animal, plant, or vermin companions can wield weapons or activate magic items, with the exception of the imp granted by the diabolist prestige class,
Thrush and raven familiars can wear rings, but not gloves.
Quote:
Avian* (armor, belt, chest, eyes, headband, neck, ring, wrist)
-me
__________________
I'm prettyyyyyy...so prettyyyyyy

Last edited by jj_wolven; 02-16-2020 at 08:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2410  
Old 02-16-2020, 09:51 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 02-24-2020
RPXP: 269
Librarian Librarian Librarian
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj_wolven View Post
No animal, plant, or vermin companions can wield weapons or activate magic items, with the exception of the imp granted by the diabolist prestige class,
This piece is referring to animal companions. The blurb about familiars is further up. The relevant piece is that, without taking a feat, avian familiars can hold a wand in their claws. Ravens and thrushes can also speak a language.

Edit: That said, I skipped an entire paragraph that listed specifically which familiars can use wands. Ravens and thrushes aren't on it.
__________________
Oh, look! So that's how you do signatures.

Last edited by Librarian; 02-16-2020 at 09:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:06 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2020, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB