twitter facebook mastodon bluesky

Notices

Closed Thread

Old Aug 13th, 2014, 02:37 PM
Hi hungry, I'm dad

Tools
User Statistics
RPXP: 19933
DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina
Questions about gravity

Hey all. So I'm studying for an astronomy final at the moment and a thought occurred to me that I thought I'd share.

Normally we assume that our intrepid adventurers stick to a relatively Earth-like planet with standard gravity, atmosphere, etc. When we transport between planes, things generally don't change. Is this reasonable? I find it difficult to believe that a plane with significantly different material make-up would have comparable gravitational properties. And let's say gravity does change: how would you handle things like move speed, encumbrance, and projectiles? Would the magical nature of the world simply counterbalance such changes?

Food for thought.
Old Aug 13th, 2014, 05:04 PM
Munrab
Former Staff

Tools
User Statistics
RPXP: 27402
RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab RedRab
Don't have the different planes have different gravity because "they have different material make-up." If you think an adventure in low or high gravity would be fun and fit the tone and themes of your game, then do it. In other words, don't do it out of some loyalty to "realism." Do it because it would be fun.

And I would handle low gravity using the underwater combat rules.

Last edited by RedRab; Aug 13th, 2014 at 05:04 PM.
Old Aug 17th, 2014, 06:58 AM
Wyrmling

Tools
User Statistics
RPXP: 0
Coroon
Or you could give players a magical item like boots or something that gives them the ability to move about in low/hi gravity as if it were normal, and then those native to the land could just be used to the environment and so move about as naturally as normal gravity
Old Aug 17th, 2014, 08:12 AM
Hi hungry, I'm dad

Tools
User Statistics