Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions volume 7 (DnD 5e) - Page 4 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #46  
Old Nov 4th, 2019, 01:40 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 1st, 2020
RPXP: 324
Librarian Librarian Librarian Librarian
Posts: 138
Hi there! Quick question:

The Hexblade Warlock class feature "Hex Warrior" states: "If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type." Does this override the earlier qualification "one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property" or are hexblade still restricted to 1h weapons when using this feature?

Thanks!

Last edited by Librarian; Nov 4th, 2019 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old Nov 4th, 2019, 03:26 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 22nd, 2023
RPXP: 7922
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,890
Not necessarily. You would need another feature that specifies you can summon a different pact weapon. If there is nothing, then the same restrictions still apply.

-me
__________________
Fun Frog Facts:
The common species of frogs are unique in the animal kingdom because they are able to mate with either sex.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old Nov 4th, 2019, 03:37 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 1st, 2020
RPXP: 324
Librarian Librarian Librarian Librarian
Posts: 138
I'm not sure I understand what you mean by "another feature that specifies you can summon a different pact weapon." As I understand it, the Pact ability allows you to create and summon any melee weapon.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old Nov 4th, 2019, 03:43 PM
Imveros's Avatar
Imveros Imveros is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 30th, 2022
RPXP: 50630
Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros
Posts: 12,991
Base pact of the blade let's you summon any melee weapon.

Improved pact weapon allows you to summon ranged weapons.

The ability itself includes the overrides needed for two handed Cha attacks and for Cha based heavy crossbow attacks. Who needs EB am I right?
__________________
I may be gone, but the shadow community lives on!

Good luck and happy gaming everyone!!!
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old Nov 4th, 2019, 03:59 PM
Librarian's Avatar
Librarian Librarian is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 1st, 2020
RPXP: 324
Librarian Librarian Librarian Librarian
Posts: 138
lol I think what you're saying is that a Hexblade Pact of the Blade can wield a greatsword (summoned with their pact ability) and get his +CHA to hit and damage?

Last edited by Librarian; Nov 4th, 2019 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old Nov 4th, 2019, 04:15 PM
Imveros's Avatar
Imveros Imveros is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 30th, 2022
RPXP: 50630
Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros Imveros
Posts: 12,991
I always use a Glaive myself, but yes, that's exactly what I'm saying. You see builds for it all the time. It's honestly the only thing that makes pact of the blade any good. Especially considering that pact of the chain can give you shillelagh cantrip which would let you have a one-handed cha hit/damage weapon without hexblade or pact of the blade!

You can also add elven accuracy to your darkness/devil's sight cheese to max the crit fishing for double damage on those smites
__________________
I may be gone, but the shadow community lives on!

Good luck and happy gaming everyone!!!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old Nov 5th, 2019, 02:55 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 22nd, 2023
RPXP: 7922
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,890
I just went to the srd to check, but did not see the original limitation you mentioned (1H).

-me
__________________
Fun Frog Facts:
The common species of frogs are unique in the animal kingdom because they are able to mate with either sex.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old Nov 6th, 2019, 08:48 AM
Auron3991 Auron3991 is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 19th, 2023
RPXP: 5146
Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991 Auron3991
Posts: 709
So, just something I was wondering:

Control Flames (XGtE pg.152) states that you can expand any non-magical fire 5ft provided there is fuel present in the new location. Now, given that a lit candle is non-magical and clothing made of natural materials tends to burn, does that mean someone could run around with a candle and use Control Flames to light cloth-wearing enemies on fire?
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old Nov 6th, 2019, 01:56 PM
Gaijin's Avatar
Gaijin Gaijin is offline
Pots o' Gold for All!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 10750
Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin
Posts: 7,042
Edited for clarity (After jj_wolven's following post.)

RAI - No.
  • Worn items are generally protected from direct attacks unless otherwise stated.
  • Cantrips are not intended to replicate other cantrips, or higher level abilities.

RAW - No*.

*The phrasing is ambiguous, but a reasonable interpretation should suffice.

The entry for the spell specifies "Fuel" as opposed to merely "flammable objects". "Fuel" consists of things that are collectively used with the "intent to produce heat", such as oil, wood, paper, etc.

While clean fabrics such as cotton and linen are relatively flammable, other common materials like wool are actually noted for being fire-retardant, so it would take very little for an able-bodied enemy to negate the burning before it could take hold.
__________________

Last edited by Gaijin; Nov 6th, 2019 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old Nov 6th, 2019, 03:53 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 22nd, 2023
RPXP: 7922
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,890
You can expand the fire, not transfer. You would need to hold the candle against the person's clothes, then cast the spell to extend it to the 'new' fuel.
It would not work with an attack - you wouldn't be holding the flame against the clothing long enough.
A saving throw might be allowed, but it would be pretty easy since they just need to break contact.

If they are immobile, then I would allow it.

-me
__________________
Fun Frog Facts:
The common species of frogs are unique in the animal kingdom because they are able to mate with either sex.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old Nov 7th, 2019, 10:41 AM
Treble83's Avatar
Treble83 Treble83 is online now
Royal Lion
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 6059
Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83
Posts: 2,674
Ear for Deceit
When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you develop a keen ear for picking out lies. Whenever you make a Wisdom (Insight) check to determine whether a creature is lying, treat a roll of 7 or lower on the d20 as an 8.


Should/Does this rule apply to Natural 1's? Cards on the table... I had a RL GM that was a bit of a stickler and his ruling was NO: It would not and should not because a natural 1 indicates a critical failure, no matter your skill level.
__________________
He/Him/His
Posting Status: Normal
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old Nov 7th, 2019, 10:46 AM
Gaijin's Avatar
Gaijin Gaijin is offline
Pots o' Gold for All!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 10750
Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin
Posts: 7,042
The idea of "Critical Failures" is a common house rule that doesn't actually exist in 5e.

If the DM is running with a "Critical Failure" house rule, then that's the rule for the table, and if there is a dispute, it should be understood as such.


Personally, if Critical Failures are on the table, I would always leave them as an option. There is always a chance that a character simply has a bad day (Or got a bit of troll in their ear that they forgot to clean out).

However, your DM may be willing to compromise with a penalized "Confirm Failure" roll to account for Ear of Deceit's benefits. (Another house rule)
__________________

Last edited by Gaijin; Nov 7th, 2019 at 10:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old Nov 7th, 2019, 11:03 AM
Treble83's Avatar
Treble83 Treble83 is online now
Royal Lion
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 6059
Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83
Posts: 2,674
Sort of a follow on question... Is "Critical Failure on NAT 1 & Critical Success on NAT 20" assumed to be the standard on RPGX unless otherwise stated or is the opposite true?
__________________
He/Him/His
Posting Status: Normal
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old Nov 7th, 2019, 11:13 AM
Gaijin's Avatar
Gaijin Gaijin is offline
Pots o' Gold for All!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 10750
Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin Gaijin
Posts: 7,042
I don't know about "assumed". It really depends on your DM.

Some games are more Mechanics Driven, while others more Story Driven.

If it matters to you, it is always an option to ask before the campaign starts. Most DMs are receptive to making or changing rules before a campaign starts, so long as everyone is on the same page from Day 0.
__________________

Last edited by Gaijin; Nov 7th, 2019 at 11:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old Nov 7th, 2019, 12:31 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 22nd, 2023
RPXP: 7922
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,890
Outside of houserules, criticals success or failure has never been a rule with skill.
RAW in most systems, they only apply to attacks and saving throws.

-me
__________________
Fun Frog Facts:
The common species of frogs are unique in the animal kingdom because they are able to mate with either sex.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB