Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions volume 7 (DnD 5e) - Page 7 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #91  
Old May 29th, 2021, 03:46 AM
Cap Ut Cap Ut is offline
Ancient Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 675
Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut
Posts: 874
There's a part in the Giant's Might feature's description that perplexes me, the sentence describing how the size doesn't change if you "lack the room". In particular, I'm not quite sure what's supposed to happen to a character that uses the feature in a 5 feet wide space (for example in a corridor or between two other creatures). Do they remain Medium or turn Large, squeezed in the space?
As pointed out in an answer I already got, given a Large creature can fit in the limited space by squeezing, there's nothing physically stopping the growth in the situations above. However, the problem I have with this interpretation is that it would make one of the main feature of a subclass straight up deleterious in many cases. Besides, I could see "room" also being interpreted as space available, with space by RAW defined as the area a creature can control effectively ("large enough for that creature", as mentioned in the Squeezing section); in this way the feature would definitely be less punishing in limited spaces.
I would like to hear the opinion of others on the matter, and if there's something I'm missing.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old Jun 1st, 2021, 11:47 AM
Retry's Avatar
Retry Retry is offline
Here to help
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 36223
Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry
Posts: 9,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by TCoE p44
Giant's Might
3rd-level Rune Knight feature

You have learned how to imbue yourself with the might of giants. As a bonus action, you magically gain the following benefits, which last for 1 minute:[list][*]If you are smaller than Large, you become Large, along with anything you are wearing. If you lack the room to become Large, your size doesn't change.[*]You have advantage on Strength checks and Strength saving throws.[*]Once on each of your turns, one of your attacks with a weapon or an unarmed strike can deal an extra 1d6 damage to a target on a hit.

You can use this feature a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses of it when you finish a long rest.
So, from my understanding of the feature's reading, it's to prevent the PC from growing in an area where they shouldn't and abruptly snapping their neck. Comical as that sounds that's really the prime reason I can think of. To save a player who didn't think things through from a cruel DM. The feature doesn't state that the extra boons are reliant on the size. So if Ulgor is in on his hands and knees squeezing through the 3' tall stone passageway he doesn't need to worry about snapping his bones and dying from internal hemorrhage when he calls upon the magic of the giants to grant him strength when he tries to kick off the iron grate at the end of the passage.

Often times there is plenty of space available even when in combat for someone to grow in size. Unless utterly surrounded on each side there should be room. Even if that were the case, they would still gain the advantage to their Strength checks/saves and gain that +1d6 to weapon/unarmed strikes due to the giant's magic flowing through their body.
__________________
Status: Behind. Stuck in multi-day meeting marathon. Send help, please.

Last edited by Retry; Jun 1st, 2021 at 11:48 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old Jun 1st, 2021, 03:00 PM
Cap Ut Cap Ut is offline
Ancient Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 675
Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut Cap Ut
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retry View Post
So, from my understanding of the feature's reading, it's to prevent the PC from growing in an area where they shouldn't and abruptly snapping their neck. Comical as that sounds that's really the prime reason I can think of. To save a player who didn't think things through from a cruel DM. The feature doesn't state that the extra boons are reliant on the size. So if Ulgor is in on his hands and knees squeezing through the 3' tall stone passageway he doesn't need to worry about snapping his bones and dying from internal hemorrhage when he calls upon the magic of the giants to grant him strength when he tries to kick off the iron grate at the end of the passage.

Often times there is plenty of space available even when in combat for someone to grow in size. Unless utterly surrounded on each side there should be room. Even if that were the case, they would still gain the advantage to their Strength checks/saves and gain that +1d6 to weapon/unarmed strikes due to the giant's magic flowing through their body.
I'm aware the other bonuses don't rely on the growing larger part, what I'm wondering is what happens exactly in the case the PC only has a 5 feet wide space available.

For example, let's say the character is in a 5 feet wide corridor and uses Giant's Might: do they remain Medium or do they turn Large, but forced to squeeze (with all the penalties associated)? Because, technically, a Large creature can fit in a 5 feet wide space, but it sure can't fight effectively in it.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old Jun 1st, 2021, 04:35 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 22nd, 2023
RPXP: 7922
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,890
I'm not sure of the official ruling, but I think it is that he would be Large and have to squeeze.

This limit is also stops casters from using this spell to destroy structures.

-me
__________________
Fun Frog Facts:
The common species of frogs are unique in the animal kingdom because they are able to mate with either sex.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old Apr 21st, 2022, 01:09 AM
zevonian's Avatar
zevonian zevonian is offline
137 NPSG Graduates
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 42562
zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian
Posts: 39,771
Which spells and/or magic items have in their descriptions that they can cure insanity?
If any, which book(s) can they be found in?
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old Apr 21st, 2022, 08:09 AM
Retry's Avatar
Retry Retry is offline
Here to help
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 36223
Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry
Posts: 9,395
Since Madness is considered a variant rule it would be difficult to find any spells/items that outright state they cure it. You could surely find some 3rd party/homebrew spells and/or items but I don't believe there are any in the official sources.

However, on p.258 of the DMG, where it covers the various degrees of insanity, there is an entry for 'Curing Madness.'
It states that the spells Calm Emotions can often suppress the effects of madness while Lesser Restoration will free a character of short-term or long-term madness. Although, depending on the source of madness a Remove Curse or Dispel Evil spell might be required, it is up to the DM to decide. A Greater Restoration spell or stronger is needed to cure someone of indefinite madness.
__________________
Status: Behind. Stuck in multi-day meeting marathon. Send help, please.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old May 3rd, 2022, 02:01 AM
zevonian's Avatar
zevonian zevonian is offline
137 NPSG Graduates
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 42562
zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian
Posts: 39,771
Thanks for that, Retry.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old Jul 12th, 2022, 09:40 PM
Treble83's Avatar
Treble83 Treble83 is online now
Royal Lion
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 6109
Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83 Treble83
Posts: 2,675
I can find no strict rules on "returning a thrown weapon to its owner." So is it safe to assume that a thrown weapon is out of play until the battle is over? The main weapon that brings this question to mind is the Javelin of Lightning. I would really hate to have that used against me after each time that I threw it at the enemy.
__________________
He/Him/His
Posting Status: Normal
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old Jul 12th, 2022, 10:18 PM
orcbane's Avatar
orcbane orcbane is offline
Play Other RPGs
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 23rd, 2023
RPXP: 10597
orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane orcbane
Posts: 8,612
"The javelin’s property can’t be used again until the next dawn. In the meantime, the javelin can still be used as a magic weapon."

So, you don't have to worry about it being used against a character in that same encounter... Unless it takes place just prior to and after dawn.

You have to go pick up anything you've thrown, unless you have a character or item feature that produces some kind of returning effect.
__________________
2XXX: Promised Land, my first (self-)published RPG is now live! (and FREE!)
Check out my podcast: Loathsome Things: A Horror Movie Podcast
Community Supporter exclusive: PbP-specific RPG system (Version 0.4 currently in development)
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old Jul 12th, 2022, 10:52 PM
Retry's Avatar
Retry Retry is offline
Here to help
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 36223
Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry
Posts: 9,395
Outside of the Artificers infusion (Returning Weapon [TCoE p.29]), any magical item/class ability that grants such feature, or the Boomerang; once thrown it is on the PC to fetch it.

The assumption is given that, once combat is over, a PC will stop to Which, some DMs might treat as ammo - so that introduces a chance of losing the item.recover all lobbed weapons from the field. Everything else falls to individual DM ruling.
__________________
Status: Behind. Stuck in multi-day meeting marathon. Send help, please.

Last edited by Retry; Jul 12th, 2022 at 10:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old Nov 17th, 2022, 07:54 PM
zevonian's Avatar
zevonian zevonian is offline
137 NPSG Graduates
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 42562
zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian
Posts: 39,771
2nd level Warlock, Fathomless Patron from the Tasha's book. Is this viable for combat?

Round one- Summon a Tentacle of the Deep (bonus action) and attack a foe (standard action) with it.

Round Two- Bonus action to move, if needed, and attack with the existing tentacle. And then standard action to cast Eldritch Blast.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old Nov 17th, 2022, 08:24 PM
Retry's Avatar
Retry Retry is offline
Here to help
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 36223
Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry
Posts: 9,395
Tentacles of the Deep act much like the spell, Spiritual Weapon.

When you use a Bonus Action to summon it you can immediately attack something with that same bonus action. On following turn(s) you can use your Bonus Action to move and attack once more. In both cases the summon/move and attack are packed into the Bonus Action for that turn - despite two different actions occuring.

What this means is you are free in all of those turns to use your action to do as you please! (Aka Eldritch Blast )
__________________
Status: Behind. Stuck in multi-day meeting marathon. Send help, please.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old Nov 17th, 2022, 08:27 PM
zevonian's Avatar
zevonian zevonian is offline
137 NPSG Graduates
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 42562
zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian
Posts: 39,771
Thank you.
Follow up- can a Tentacle be summoned whilst underwater? I'm not seeing a Verbal component.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old Nov 17th, 2022, 08:48 PM
Retry's Avatar
Retry Retry is offline
Here to help
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 36223
Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry
Posts: 9,395
Not a problem!

The ability only puts one requirement on where the tentacle can be summoned: a spot the PC can see within 60ft. No components are needed to summon it, it just springs into being. So you can summon it under water, on the wall, ceiling, etc.
__________________
Status: Behind. Stuck in multi-day meeting marathon. Send help, please.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old Nov 17th, 2022, 09:24 PM
zevonian's Avatar
zevonian zevonian is offline
137 NPSG Graduates
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 42562
zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian
Posts: 39,771
So you know, I'm with my tabletop group right now. I agree with your assessments, and so does the DM.
Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:17 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB