Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions volume 6 - DnD 3.5 and Pathfinder) - Page 5 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #61  
Old Jan 27th, 2010, 08:09 PM
mcl01's Avatar
mcl01 mcl01 is offline
Moxious
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 8th, 2018
RPXP: 2688
mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01 mcl01
Posts: 2,827
Question - I believe at one point during my readings, I remember finding an alchemical item that coated a weapon with silver that made it count as a silver weapon for a short period of time. Does anyone happen to know what that item is called and it's source/page? Or perhaps I'm just deluding myself and descending slowly into insanity. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
__________________
A heart that's made of gold can't really beat at all...

[3.5e] Dumakis Divided.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old Jan 27th, 2010, 08:28 PM
Jondera's Avatar
Jondera Jondera is offline
FOR SCIENCE!
Good People  

Event Judge  

Former Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 18th, 2023
RPXP: 11985
Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera
Posts: 13,913
The item in question is Silversheen, and is a wondrous item from the DMG.
__________________
Are you on Steam? Join our Steam group! (Currently under construction, but open for membership)
Like folk music? Interested in Swedish folk culture? I have videos on Youtube.
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old Feb 6th, 2010, 06:14 AM
LuckyLukin's Avatar
LuckyLukin LuckyLukin is offline
Knight that says Nil
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 29th, 2021
RPXP: 2495
LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin LuckyLukin
Posts: 4,278
A question that my table gamers and I had run into recently...

What's the rules for drinking/intoxication?

Especially when relating to drinking contests. I found an article that set up a system but I was wondering if anyone here had something to point to in the books.
__________________
Can't have business without sin, can't have Culture without cult, can't have slaughter without laughter. And people still wonder why spelling is important.
The Price of Privilege [A 5e story]
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old Feb 6th, 2010, 03:06 PM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
Arms & Equipment Guide has rules for intoxication.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old Feb 6th, 2010, 08:25 PM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 20th, 2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
Really? Why are they in Arms & Equipment?

It would seem to me that the alcoholic intoxication should be roleplayed, more than rolled.
However, if you are dead set in using some sort of mechanics, you may want to use the Confused status (from the SRD). Just take out the "attack the caster" part, since there obviously is no caster to attack.
If it gets more serious you may want to turn it into some sort of poison, probably with wisdom and/or dexterity damage.
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old Feb 6th, 2010, 10:19 PM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
Yes, Arms & Equipment Guide has rules for intoxication. I guess they're there because it covers all sorts of item related stuff and it was a proper place to put them in?

I don't remember the specifics, but it may have worked similar to poisons, ie., ability damage. Not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old Feb 6th, 2010, 10:35 PM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 20th, 2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
Well, booze cannot be an equipment, though I guess you could use it as a weapon. A Molotov coctail or something. But really, that should've been "Arms, Equipment & Supplies".

I like my brief approximation, though, but if you have access to that book, of course you should use it.
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old Feb 10th, 2010, 08:54 AM
chaosaccountant's Avatar
chaosaccountant chaosaccountant is offline
Anarchic Actuary
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 8th, 2013
RPXP: 2744
chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant chaosaccountant
Posts: 3,650
Without using the book, the simplest way is to treat it as a mild poison - dex and wis penalties at first, actual ability damage setting in if they keep at it, and finally con damage if they get to 'alcohol poisoning.'
__________________
For the Night is Dark and full of Terrors
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old Feb 18th, 2010, 05:31 PM
Carpe Noctem's Avatar
Carpe Noctem Carpe Noctem is offline
Seize the Night
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Oct 27th, 2010
RPXP: 379
Carpe Noctem Carpe Noctem Carpe Noctem Carpe Noctem
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaosaccountant View Post
Without using the book, the simplest way is to treat it as a mild poison - dex and wis penalties at first, actual ability damage setting in if they keep at it, and finally con damage if they get to 'alcohol poisoning.'
Of course don't forget to give them there fort saves to resist.

My dm used to do this. Fort save 10 + the number of drinks you've had (10 raised to 12, 14, etc... for stronger drinks)

On a fail you took 1d4 points of non-lethal damage times the number of drinks you've had.

This kept the fun in drinking yourself silly without having to worry about permanent damage.

We had a barbarian in our party rage and finally fail his.. 15th drink i think it was? Dc 25 save if i remember and before that he had amazing rolls a few 20's. Took enough non lethal to sleep for a few days strait.
__________________
Vir sapit qui pauca loquitur.
(It is a wise man who speaks little.)
Fight my Brute!!
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old Feb 18th, 2010, 05:39 PM
Naresh's Avatar
Naresh Naresh is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Apr 27th, 2016
RPXP: 6365
Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh Naresh
Posts: 18,545
I like that rule Noctem I might use this
__________________
The Phoenix also rises
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old Feb 18th, 2010, 07:20 PM
NEON725's Avatar
NEON725 NEON725 is offline
One of them
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Oct 29th, 2016
RPXP: 1656
NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725 NEON725
Posts: 4,937
Agreed. This makes me want more drunks in my party.
__________________
"I'm signaturing that" - dirkoth
I'll take a chip... AND EAT IT! *dramatic music*
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old Feb 26th, 2010, 02:34 PM
GeoAvanti's Avatar
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti is offline
Warrior of Derpness
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 14324
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti
Posts: 5,875
Not sure if this has been addressed anywhere, so I might as well ask it, even if to just have the obvious answer pointed out for me.

The SRD entry for Weapon Focus reads: "Choose one type of weapon. You can also choose unarmed strike or grapple (or ray, if you are a spellcaster) as your weapon for purposes of this feat." ... "You gain a +1 bonus on all attack rolls you make using the selected weapon."

So, in following semantics here, does that mean if you take Weapon Focus (Grapple) that you only get a +1 for the Touch Attack to initiate a grapple, and no further bonuses along the way (Except for, I guess choosing to deal damage)? Perhaps I'm mixing up systems, but I didn't think that grapple checks were necessarily considered attacks. That ought to mean that you do not get that bonus on resisting, maintaining, or pinning in a grapple, yes?

(Personally, as a DM, I would allow it to cover the whole spectrum, but I'm curious about the RAW interpretation.)
__________________
Assume I am a bear that woke up from a five-year-long nap. Three minutes ago.

That is how I feel.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old Feb 26th, 2010, 03:27 PM
Jondera's Avatar
Jondera Jondera is offline
FOR SCIENCE!
Good People  

Event Judge  

Former Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 18th, 2023
RPXP: 11985
Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera
Posts: 13,913
I believe that in this case, the +1 would apply both to the touch attack and to all relevant grapple rolls.
__________________
Are you on Steam? Join our Steam group! (Currently under construction, but open for membership)
Like folk music? Interested in Swedish folk culture? I have videos on Youtube.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old Feb 26th, 2010, 07:16 PM
ArcaneLizard's Avatar
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 20th, 2010
RPXP: 244
ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard ArcaneLizard
Posts: 690
I don't think "grapple" counts as a kind of weapon, but if it does, then it gives a bonus to all attack rolls.
So yeah, that would include opposed attack rolls for determining this and that.
__________________
Hello peoples. Sorry I've been away, and sorry I'll stay away. One of my grades was lost on a bureoucratic mishap, and I've been trying to fix it, to no avail. I'll try to catch up when that is fixed, assuming my characters still live by then. Sorry again.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old Feb 26th, 2010, 11:57 PM
Damionte's Avatar
Damionte Damionte is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 25th, 2022
RPXP: 914
Damionte Damionte Damionte Damionte Damionte Damionte Damionte Damionte
Posts: 5,251
I would rule that if you took weapon focus (Grapple) the bonus would apply only to your opposed rolls in the grapple, not for the touch attack you make to start the grapple. That touch attack attack roll is based on the weapon you use to make the attack. Like if you were using a whip to grapple you need weapon focus whip, or if you're doing it unarmed you need weapon focused unarmed.

Same thing if you're performing a trip.
__________________
Darryl "Damionte" Harris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB