Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (DnD 4e) - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old Dec 25th, 2009, 07:34 PM
Jondera's Avatar
Jondera Jondera is offline
FOR SCIENCE!
Good People  

Event Judge  

Former Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 18th, 2023
RPXP: 11985
Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera Jondera
Posts: 13,913
Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (DnD 4e)

The Ask the Sage thread is being split to accomodate the two different sets of D&D rules - this thread is for use with 4th edition D&D only.
__________________
Are you on Steam? Join our Steam group! (Currently under construction, but open for membership)
Like folk music? Interested in Swedish folk culture? I have videos on Youtube.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 14th, 2010, 10:01 PM
KPJFormat KPJFormat is offline
Young Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 16th, 2013
RPXP: 28
KPJFormat
Posts: 89
Quick question: In 4e, magic thrown items are returned to the hand automatically as a free action (p.232 Player's Handbook (PHB)), which you can take as many of as you desire during your or anyone's turn (PHB, 267). Now, for an attack such as 'Blinding Barrage (Rogue Attack 1, p.119 PHB), which attacks 'each enemy in blast you can see' (Close Blast 3) can this be one magic weapon that is thrown and returned for each enemy?

i.e., can a rogue use Blinding Barrage to attack 4 enemies in one turn that are within the burst range with the same magic dagger?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 14th, 2010, 11:56 PM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
Yes, definitely, because otherwise you'd never use the power with a light thrown weapon once you'd acquired a magical one.

So, yeah, a rogue can do that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 17th, 2010, 12:26 PM
Tyche's Avatar
Tyche Tyche is offline
I voted for Kodos
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 11th, 2010
RPXP: 147
Tyche Tyche
Posts: 136
This will probably seem like a dumb question, but for a few monsters I see a "recharge" description for their powers, and then usually a picture of a 6-sided die and sometimes a II after that. I can't for the life of me figure out exactly what this means. I assume it means that these powers are reusable after a certain number of rounds as determined by a die roll (and thus not strictly encounter powers), but I can't find in the rules where this mechanic is described. Any help (just a page reference will do) would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 17th, 2010, 01:11 PM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
It means you roll a d6 after using that power, and if you get one of the indicated results, the power has recharged and is ready for use again, making a roll every round until successful. For example, if it has a picture of a five and a six, the power recharges when you roll at least 5 or 6 on a six sided die, one roll every round until successful.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 31st, 2010, 09:51 PM
IWYLLPA IWYLLPA is offline
Mature Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Apr 6th, 2010
RPXP: 8
IWYLLPA
Posts: 313
I have a pencil and paper game where we're working on building a base. Is there a list somewhere of rituals sorted so that I could easily see which ones are permanent (and thus would potentially be useful for making a sweet base)? As an alternative, does anyone know of some good rituals for making bases? (I'm thinking things to make it permanently improved.)
__________________

"I am capable of rearranging the fundamental building blocks of the universe in under six seconds with enough time left over to move 30 feet..."
-Vaarsuvius, from The Order of the Stick by Rich Burlew[/size]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Feb 2nd, 2010, 01:21 AM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
The only place I know where you have a comprehensive list of rituals is the Compendium, but you can only view them by level and/or the skill used.

How about if you simply thought about different stuff you might want for your base (defenses mainly, I guess, plus some stuff to make it feel cozy?) and present these to your DM? As long as it's reasonable, it shouldn't be a problem, I think.

Also, you don't have to use magic to accomplish stuff. You can just build things too.

Last edited by Teemu; Feb 2nd, 2010 at 01:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Feb 9th, 2010, 09:45 AM
Arcanus's Avatar
Arcanus Arcanus is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 18th, 2016
RPXP: 2133
Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus
Posts: 2,205
I'd like some thoughts on the following if possible please It concerns Bardic Training as per PHB2 p.67. here are my points/questions:

A bard has just joined the party (level 2) and he has given me (the DM) the heads up that he wishes to use Traveller's Chant when they set out from the village. Two questions arise about this ritual:

1. Components
The bardic training class feature allows the bard to use this ritual without expending any components. Fine, that's straightforward. However, I read that as you must still have those components to perform the ritual. You just don't expend them.

Focus
Now the component cost states something like 10gp plus a focus worth 5gp. What does that mean exactly? Does it mean a total cost of 15gp or, if the bard has an instrument that costs at least the 5gp, he doesn't pay the focus cost? Alternatively is it a special instrument purely for that ritual? As a comparison, Song of Restfulness (p216 PHB 2) uses a focus worth 1000gp.

2. Actually using it
During the journey what happens if they get into an encounter whilst the ritual is still effective? Does it affect movement during the battle? Now I know it says during travelling but it doesn't actually cover interruptions like this.
__________________
DM: Arcanus' Kobold Hall
DM's - Looking for good, reliable players or want to let others know about any?
Players - use the same link to see recommended DM's
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Feb 9th, 2010, 12:57 PM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
I'd say the bard doesn't need the components at all, once per day.

I'm not sure about the focus thing. Ask Cust Service?

The ritual doesn't grant you bonuses to tactical movement, so no added speed during combat. (Would be too powerful.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Feb 9th, 2010, 02:55 PM
Arcanus's Avatar
Arcanus Arcanus is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 18th, 2016
RPXP: 2133
Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus
Posts: 2,205
Good idea So I did and this is the reply:



Quote:
Subject
Bardic Training

Discussion Thread
Response (Support Agent) 02/09/2010 11:41 AM
Carl,

Thank you for contacting Wizards of the Coast! I have copied your questions to better answer them for you.

1. Components
The bardic training class feature allows the bard to use this ritual without expending any components. Fine, that's straightforward. However, I read that as you must still have those components to perform the ritual. You just don't expend them when you perform it.

Focus
Now the component cost states something like 10gp plus a focus worth 5gp. What does that mean exactly? Does it mean a total cost of 15gp or, if the bard has an instrument that costs at least the 5gp, he doesn't pay the focus cost? Alternatively is it a special instrument purely for that ritual? As a comparison, Song of Restfulness (p216 PHB 2) uses a focus worth 1000gp.

- Your ritual will require you to have the 10gp worth of components and any musical instrument you can play that is worth at least 5gp.

2. Actually using Traveler's Chant
During the journey what happens if they get into an encounter whilst the ritual is still effective? Does it affect movement during the battle? Now I know it says during travelling but it doesn't actually cover interruptions like this.

- If you are interrupted in the middle of your trip you do not gain any bonus to movement for that combat and will need to perform the ritual again after the combat.

Please let me know if you need anymore help!
__________________
DM: Arcanus' Kobold Hall
DM's - Looking for good, reliable players or want to let others know about any?
Players - use the same link to see recommended DM's
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Feb 10th, 2010, 12:03 AM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
I don't see why you'd need to perform the ritual again if you get into combat. The duration is listed as 8 hours, and there's no mention of the ritual ending if you fight or roll skill checks or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Feb 10th, 2010, 12:57 AM
Arcanus's Avatar
Arcanus Arcanus is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 18th, 2016
RPXP: 2133
Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus
Posts: 2,205
To me it does make sense If you use the analogy that as you travel and if you are singing/whistling to raise your spirits, then if you get interrupted and fight, you would have to build up your spirits again from scratch.
__________________
DM: Arcanus' Kobold Hall
DM's - Looking for good, reliable players or want to let others know about any?
Players - use the same link to see recommended DM's
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Feb 10th, 2010, 01:15 AM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
But the casting time is 10 minutes, and it's during those 10 minutes you have to listen to the bard perform in order to get the benefit. Remember that it's not regular whistling and singing to raise spirits -- it's MAGIC!

Besides, making it end if you enter combat just decreases the ritual's value needlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Feb 10th, 2010, 01:54 AM
Arcanus's Avatar
Arcanus Arcanus is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 18th, 2016
RPXP: 2133
Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus Arcanus
Posts: 2,205
Hehe true but in that case why would the movement bonus stop just because of combat? That doesn't make sense
__________________
DM: Arcanus' Kobold Hall
DM's - Looking for good, reliable players or want to let others know about any?
Players - use the same link to see recommended DM's
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Feb 10th, 2010, 02:30 AM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
Because the description says it applies only for overland movement.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:48 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB