Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (DnD 4e) - Page 3 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #31  
Old Mar 27th, 2010, 03:03 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teemu View Post
Nope, low-light vision lets you see normally in dim light, which gives a -2 penalty to attack rolls to those who don't have enhanced sight. Darkvision lets you see in pitch black darkness, but I don't think any of the player races has it.
From the Forgotten Realms Player's Guide, Drow have Darkvision, unless any errata has changed that. But I don't really see why they should, mechanically speaking, as it's a fairly powerful ability. Compare that normal and low-light vision have -5 to hit anything in total darkness, and there's a magic item that does nothing but give darkvision at level 14. Still, this is a player race that has natural darkvision. Monster Manual 2 has a PC option entry for Duergar (dark dwarves) who also have darkvision, but some of the monster manual races change a bit between publication there and as a full-fledged race.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old Mar 27th, 2010, 04:14 PM
Teemu's Avatar
Teemu Teemu is offline
huhhh?
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 21st, 2017
RPXP: 2791
Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu Teemu
Posts: 3,358
Yeah, I actually did remember later that drow do have darkvision.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old Mar 29th, 2010, 03:19 AM
X-Codes's Avatar
X-Codes X-Codes is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 26th, 2011
RPXP: 163
X-Codes X-Codes
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal View Post
From the Forgotten Realms Player's Guide, Drow have Darkvision, unless any errata has changed that. But I don't really see why they should, mechanically speaking, as it's a fairly powerful ability. Compare that normal and low-light vision have -5 to hit anything in total darkness, and there's a magic item that does nothing but give darkvision at level 14. Still, this is a player race that has natural darkvision. Monster Manual 2 has a PC option entry for Duergar (dark dwarves) who also have darkvision, but some of the monster manual races change a bit between publication there and as a full-fledged race.
Darkvision sounds good, but it's tough to take advantage of it. It's rare that you're out in a wide-open, pitch-dark area where you can take advantage of being outside the radius of a light source yet inside of short range to avoid taking a -2 penalty anyway. What's more, even if you do get all these ducks lined up it's pretty much only ranged weapon users that can be effective at the kind of range we're talking about. Useful implement powers typically top out at a range of 10.

If you have some way to extinguish light sources (like an Assassin), then you can seriously take advantage of Darkvision. Until then, it's really situational, even though occasionally powerful.
__________________
"Y'all gimmie no choice... time to bring in the big guns!" -Grit

Last edited by X-Codes; Mar 29th, 2010 at 03:21 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old Mar 29th, 2010, 06:58 AM
Sedracus's Avatar
Sedracus Sedracus is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Sep 30th, 2022
RPXP: 11153
Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus Sedracus
Posts: 19,818
The most powerful feature of the Drow is not darkvision - it's Cloud of Darkness.

Drow assassin? How.. appropriate
__________________
From the Staff Forum: "Added to my to do list: enshrine Sed's personal account details as 'Official Site Documents' " ~Birched
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old Mar 30th, 2010, 06:02 AM
X-Codes's Avatar
X-Codes X-Codes is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 26th, 2011
RPXP: 163
X-Codes X-Codes
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admin Sedracus View Post
The most powerful feature of the Drow is not darkvision - it's Cloud of Darkness.

Drow assassin? How.. appropriate
I'd prefer a Shade Assassin that was a Drow in a previous life. Ability bonuses match up better, and Shades have some truly sick Assassin feats.
__________________
"Y'all gimmie no choice... time to bring in the big guns!" -Grit
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old Apr 1st, 2010, 10:38 AM
sabrina9's Avatar
sabrina9 sabrina9 is offline
Akatsuki
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 12th, 2011
RPXP: 272
sabrina9 sabrina9 sabrina9
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Codes View Post
I'd prefer a Shade Assassin that was a Drow in a previous life. Ability bonuses match up better, and Shades have some truly sick Assassin feats.
shades are sooo cool, I played one a long time ago... DM's doesn't let me to play them anymore
__________________
"Dude, She just called you a nerd!" ..."OH HELL NO! hold my PC, Warhammer Figures, D&D rule book and my table top RPG"
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old Apr 4th, 2010, 01:34 AM
GeoAvanti's Avatar
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti is offline
Warrior of Derpness
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 14324
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti
Posts: 5,875
OK, so, I'm new to 4e, but I was talked into playing with some friends because they needed anothe rperson.

In making my character (a shockingly melee-capable Bard), I ran into some odd considerations, I figured this was one of the better places to ask.

In using the Harsh Songblade (PH2), it claims that the weapon can also fulfill the role of the Bard's implement (Double entendres aside...) I was wondering if the weapon's proficiency bonus also applies in situations where it is being used as an implement.

In this case, a longsword. So, when I use an ability that requires an implement, such as Vicious Mockery (PH2,69), is there any reason I ought not to also apply the weapon's proficiency bonus to the attack itself?

Granted, I find it a little... unbalanced if I can do that-- so I am assuming I cannot. I wanted to ask if there was anything in the RAW-- or merely implied through it-- that specifically pointed out what the case was.

I hope this isn't a silly question-- as I said, I am woefully unfamiliar with 4th.
__________________
Assume I am a bear that woke up from a five-year-long nap. Three minutes ago.

That is how I feel.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old Apr 4th, 2010, 02:20 AM
Skryptik's Avatar
Skryptik Skryptik is offline
Digital Vagabond
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 19th, 2022
RPXP: 1163
Skryptik Skryptik Skryptik Skryptik Skryptik Skryptik Skryptik Skryptik Skryptik
Posts: 956
The only RAW I know of on it is in Arcane Power with the feat Arcane Implement Proficiency. The songblade property in effect duplicates that feat in the sense that it allows you to use your blade of choice as an implement instead of having to carry around a wand as well. The actual text of the feat is something to the effect of not applying a proficiency bonus of a weapon that is being used as an implement.

It creates a mechanical duality. While making a weapon attack or using a weapon power, proficiency applies. While making an implement attack or using an implement power, proficiency doesn't work. In this vein, keep in mind that using it as an implement is subject to other intricacies like opportunity attacks in melee.
__________________
Currently GMing: AFMBE: The Knox Event starting August 16th
Currently Looking For: Warhammer 40k, Warhammer Fantasy, Game of Thrones RPG, Shadowrun, Dark Sun 5E

Last edited by Skryptik; Apr 4th, 2010 at 03:04 AM. Reason: Typo
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old Apr 4th, 2010, 05:48 AM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
Absolutely not. You never add a proficiency bonus to implement powers. For the reasons you guessed - they never attack AC and aren't meant to be super-accurate unless stated so with an attack bonus in the power. This is one of those things that was "so obvious" they didn't include it in either of the first two Player's Handbooks, but they fielded it in Customer Service questions right away and now, it is finally available in errata here: http://www.wizards.com/DnD/Article.aspx?x=dnd/updates

For your convenience I've quoted the relevant passage below, even though it appears as the very first out of all the errata at the time of this writing:
"Player’s Handbook
New Updates
Accessories
Page 56: Add the following paragraphs at the end of the Accessories section. This change reflects revisions in Player’s Handbook 3. It clarifies how to use an implement as a weapon, or vice versa.

Using a Weapon as an Implement: If you’re able to use a weapon as an implement, the weapon works like a normal implement for you, but you use neither the weapon’s proficiency bonus nor its nonmagical weapon properties with your implement powers. When you use a magic version of the weapon as an implement, you can use the magic weapon’s enhancement bonus, critical hit effects, properties, and powers. However, some magic weapons have properties and powers that are worded in such a way that they work only with weapon attacks. Also, a weapon’s range and damage die are usually irrelevant to implement powers, since such powers have their own ranges and damage expressions."

Generally speaking that update file is a good go-to resource, since it answers a lot of the most common questions people may have with the game. Hope this helps!

Similarly, the example for an enchanted item given all throughout the first Player's Handbook, the Holy Avenger, had this property at publication: "Special: A holy avenger can be used as a holy symbol. It adds its enhancement bonus to attack rolls and damage rolls
and the extra damage granted by its property (if applicable) when used in this manner. You do not gain your weapon proficiency bonus to the attack roll when using a holy avenger as an implement."

Furthermore, the same page of the book you got the Songblade item from has this to say about them:
"Using a Weapon as an Implement: Some classes can use certain magic weapons as implements. If you’re able to wield a magic weapon as an implement and use an implement power through it, you add the weapon’s enhancement bonus to the power’s attack rolls and damage rolls, but you do not use the weapon’s proficiency bonus. If you score a critical hit with the magic weapon when using it as an implement, you use the weapon’s critical hit effect."
That is the reason they stopped explicitly stating it in the item properties after Player's Handbook 2.

There's another thing... Arcane Implement Proficiency in the Arcane Power book allowed you to choose any one implement as an implement you can use in addition to the ones you already had. People used this to wield Longswords as implements, claiming they were Swordmage implements (which rendered obsolete a feat specific to Eladrin.) This is apparently a legitimate use of the feat, and it predates the above update, so the errata for this feat explicitly says the following:
"Arcane Implement Proficiency
Page 124: In the first sentence of the first paragraph of the Benefit line, remove “other than your own.” The former text was too limiting for multiclassing arcane characters.

Benefit: Choose a kind of implement associated with any arcane class. You can use that kind of implement with your arcane powers.
If that implement is also a weapon, you do not add the weapon’s proficiency bonus to attack rolls made while you wield it as an implement."
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!

Last edited by Nocturnal; Apr 4th, 2010 at 06:09 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old Apr 4th, 2010, 04:11 PM
GeoAvanti's Avatar
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti is offline
Warrior of Derpness
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 14324
GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti GeoAvanti
Posts: 5,875
Thanks for the help, guys.

I'm glad to know that it happened to be so obvious that Wizards, in their unending wisdom did not choose to mention it.
__________________
Assume I am a bear that woke up from a five-year-long nap. Three minutes ago.

That is how I feel.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old Apr 4th, 2010, 04:28 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
Yeah there are a lot of examples of that.

I think my favorite is that when you charge, you can exploit the geometry of 4e's space (pi=4) to take the shortest distance path (in squares) that routes around solid obstacles, though there may be several such equidistant paths between two points even without obstacles. So you can zigzag the entire way provided you use the fewest squares possible to reach your target, when you'd be going through the corners of all the squares. I've only begun learning metric and topological spaces so that should creep me out more later.
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!

Last edited by Nocturnal; Apr 4th, 2010 at 04:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old Apr 7th, 2010, 03:57 AM
Nof's Avatar
Nof Nof is offline
Young Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 31st, 2010
RPXP: 3
Nof
Posts: 76
Hi,

In 4e you can retrain 1 power previously choosen per lvl gained, from what I understand? Can you retrain Feats as well one per lvl?

Thanks,

Nof

Last edited by Nof; Apr 7th, 2010 at 03:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old Apr 7th, 2010, 05:19 AM
X-Codes's Avatar
X-Codes X-Codes is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 26th, 2011
RPXP: 163
X-Codes X-Codes
Posts: 644
To beat a dead horse:
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeoAvanti View Post
In making my character (a shockingly melee-capable Bard), I ran into some odd considerations, I figured this was one of the better places to ask.
Bards are plenty melee capable in 3.5, but I digress.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeoAvanti View Post
In using the Harsh Songblade (PH2), it claims that the weapon can also fulfill the role of the Bard's implement (Double entendres aside...) I was wondering if the weapon's proficiency bonus also applies in situations where it is being used as an implement.
Your answer is about 4 inches above the item's description in the PH2. Perfectly up to date rules there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nof View Post
In 4e you can retrain 1 power previously choosen per lvl gained, from what I understand? Can you retrain Feats as well one per lvl?
You can retrain one feat, power, or trained skill every level. The only requirement for retraining feats is that you don't lose a feat that is required for something else and that you don't gain a feat that you don't meet the requirements for.
__________________
"Y'all gimmie no choice... time to bring in the big guns!" -Grit

Last edited by X-Codes; Apr 7th, 2010 at 05:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old Apr 7th, 2010, 04:13 PM
Nof's Avatar
Nof Nof is offline
Young Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 31st, 2010
RPXP: 3
Nof
Posts: 76
Thanks X-codes for the quick response. Completely makes sesnse can't retrain a feat that is required for another feat or skill you have.

Just to clarify though you can only retrain either one skill, power, or feat per lvl and not one of each type per lvl?

Thanks a ton,

Nof

Last edited by Nof; Apr 7th, 2010 at 04:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old Apr 7th, 2010, 10:32 PM
X-Codes's Avatar
X-Codes X-Codes is offline
Very Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 26th, 2011
RPXP: 163
X-Codes X-Codes
Posts: 644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nof View Post
Just to clarify though you can only retrain either one skill, power, or feat per lvl and not one of each type per lvl?
Right. You can change only one thing each level, and that thing has to be either a feat, skill, or power.
__________________
"Y'all gimmie no choice... time to bring in the big guns!" -Grit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:39 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB