Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (DnD 4e) - Page 6 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76  
Old Aug 17th, 2010, 11:37 PM
Houtoku's Avatar
Houtoku Houtoku is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 5th, 2023
RPXP: 507
Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku
Posts: 1,668
Meant new for me (& since there haven't been any new ones in 2 weeks).. either way.

Thanks alot, that cleared it up. I usually pick one up when creating a character just for the RP aspect, but this at least justifies it. I didn't even think of Wizards' Implement Mastery.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old Aug 21st, 2010, 02:38 PM
blesper's Avatar
blesper blesper is offline
Blue Rogue
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 13th, 2012
RPXP: 153
blesper blesper
Posts: 1,162
How do you determine defenses on something that you create through a power like the psion's Shaped Consciousness.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old Aug 21st, 2010, 03:28 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
The general rules for Conjurations are that they use the same defenses that you have.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old Aug 22nd, 2010, 01:54 PM
blesper's Avatar
blesper blesper is offline
Blue Rogue
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 13th, 2012
RPXP: 153
blesper blesper
Posts: 1,162
Thank you. I've been wondering about that.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old Aug 22nd, 2010, 02:24 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
Glad to help!

For future reference, this and similar information can be found on page 59 of the first Player's Handbook, and also in an updated form in the appendix of Player's Handbook 3, which starts on page 214.
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old Aug 23rd, 2010, 01:33 AM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
Alternatively, you can find them in the Compendium (direct link). It's a great tool for searching out rules, and it even tells you where to look for more (eg, PHB3 in this case).
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old Aug 23rd, 2010, 10:13 AM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
That does not work if you don't have a D&D Insider subscription.
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old Aug 24th, 2010, 01:59 AM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
That is true

Of course, directing to the PHB3 doesn't work without the PHB3, either - so I was jut putting out more options
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old Aug 24th, 2010, 10:50 AM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
True enough and I guess the DDI option is cheaper in the short run!
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old Aug 25th, 2010, 07:00 AM
zelphi's Avatar
zelphi zelphi is offline
Transmigrated Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Apr 13th, 2011
RPXP: 162
zelphi zelphi
Posts: 518
He's not going to be summoning something with a Psion without the PHB3 though, unless he's already got a D&Di subscription.
__________________
*** hidden content ***
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old Sep 4th, 2010, 12:30 PM
Illya Illya is offline
Old Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 29th, 2011
RPXP: 687
Illya Illya Illya Illya Illya Illya
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nocturnal View Post
That's not a new one, I'm sure it was asked before. Short, inaccurate answer: No.

Slightly longer more accurate answer: Some class features (such as the Wizard's Implement Mastery features) and some feats (such as Implement Expertise) trigger off your using an attack through a particular kind of implement. A non-enchanted implement will suffice for these purposes.

So for example if you have the Holy Symbol Expertise feat, and you use a non-magical holy symbol, you'll get a +1 feat bonus to the attack though you won't get any enhancement bonus. You wouldn't get this bonus if you used the attack without any symbol.
Also can consider the new Superior Implements - non-magical with specific bonuses...
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old Sep 4th, 2010, 02:02 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
Right, those require feats to use so I lumped it in with "trigger certain feats" rather than give a more complicated answer that would likely still fail to capture every possible use (what if the game features a door sealed with a powerful Arcane Lock that only opens to a holy symbol of Erathis?)

But yes, that is correct: non-magical superior implements might hypothetically be purchased and the feat taken to use them, as they are well within reach of most level 1 characters' starting gold allotment.
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old Sep 18th, 2010, 09:07 PM
Houtoku's Avatar
Houtoku Houtoku is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 5th, 2023
RPXP: 507
Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku Houtoku
Posts: 1,668
Question about multiple damage types.

If something (power, weapon, etc) says you do damage of multiple types (cold/fire, poison/acid, etc) - does that mean you do X damage of each type.

Or it's considered "mixed" damage, and can ignore resists towards one type (ie: you do cold/fire damage against something with Cold resist 5) - will it do full damage because of the Fire component?
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old Sep 18th, 2010, 10:40 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
The latter: it is considered "mixed" damage and only the weakest resistance or the highest vulnerability will count. This is the way to ignore resistances.

Note that untyped damage is not a type. If damage has a type, then it is not also untyped.

There's an exception: some attacks (mainly monster attacks) deal "# [untyped] damage and # [typed, e.g.] cold damage" - those will trigger resistances and vulnerabilities, but only the part of the damage which is typed. So say you deal 8 damage and 4 cold damage to someone who has resist cold 5? You will end up doing 8 damage, not 7 which is what you'd do if you had dealt 12 cold damage. If you hit that same target with 12 cold and fire damage, of course, you will do the full 12 damage.

However that brings up a good question that I had and don't know the answer to. What happens if you deal multiple distinct types of damage (written as e.g., "5 cold damage and 5 fire damage"), or typed and untyped (as might actually happen) and are Weakened? Here's the thorniest example situation:

A young white dragon is Weakened when he bites a target that has vulnerable 5 cold. The dragon rolls and deals 7 untyped damage and 1 cold damage. How much damage does the target take? Things to consider...

Is the damage summed then halved so the total would be 4, or is it halved separately, then summed, so the total would be 3?

If it's halved first then is the cold damage negated (as it rounds down to zero) so it doesn't trigger vulnerability at all? So the final damage is 3?

Is extra damage inflicted on a vulnerable creature also halved if the attacker is weakened? So in the first case (summed then halved) the total damage would be 6 after the 5 from vulnerability got halved and rounded down to 2 (or the 13 total got halved to 6)?
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!

Last edited by Nocturnal; Sep 18th, 2010 at 10:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old Sep 25th, 2010, 03:26 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
Heh, stumped the Sage, have I?
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:37 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB