Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (DnD 4e) - Page 8 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #106  
Old Oct 16th, 2010, 11:30 PM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
Quote:
Actually the rounds down has a caveat "to a minimum of one" in most situations, damage is one of them.
Interesting - where is this rule found? I had a search through the first PHB and DMG, but didn't find it there.

Quote:
In the case of your young weakened white dragon the target takes 3 normal damage and 6 cold damage, if the target had even 1 point of cold resistance they would take no cold damage.
Ah, so you are suggesting that the resistance would apply before the vulnerability? Answers in podcasts from WotC have said otherwise - even if the target had a larger resistance, the vulnerability would still trigger (up to the point where the resistance dwarfs it). So, someone with resist 5 cold and vulnerable 5 cold who took 1 cold damage would end up taking 1 damage. The resist and vulnerable would, in effect, cancel each other out.
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old Oct 17th, 2010, 12:56 PM
SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom is offline
Pretty cool Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 14586
SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom SpatulaOdoom
Posts: 10,554
My awareness was that the vulnerability only triggers if you actually wind up taking damage of the correct type, if it is reduced to zero it never triggers.
I'll look in on the first part again.
__________________
My Rogue Trader game is looking for crew!

Thanks to all the great great GM's. Especially: Makenshi, Birched, Savoylen, Davion, and Homestarbaby.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old Oct 25th, 2010, 10:17 AM
Brisingry's Avatar
Brisingry Brisingry is offline
The Only Gnome Barbarian
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 3rd, 2015
RPXP: 222
Brisingry Brisingry Brisingry
Posts: 1,751
Ooh, I have a question now;
For spells and effects that have the line "first failed saving throw," etc., as in the wizard's first level daily "Sleep," is this still triggered if someone makes a successful heal check to grant an affected person a saving throw and the person fails? Or do failed saves only count when made on the turn of the afflicted character? It seems pretty odd to me to have something bad happen to an ally because a teammate happened to make a successful heal check.
__________________
"I know that sometimes, the hero has to play baccarat with the enemy, even though logically it would make more sense for them to just be trying to kill each other. What I don't know is how to play baccarat." -Elan, OOTS no. 775
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old Oct 25th, 2010, 10:31 AM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
That does only refer to the "natural" saving throws that you get at the end of your turn. e.g., a Warden wouldn't get worse at the start of his turn due to Font of Life. You can find this rule on page 215 of Player's Handbook 3 (and possibly other places.)

__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!

Last edited by Nocturnal; Oct 27th, 2010 at 06:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old Oct 30th, 2010, 05:36 PM
Nocturnal's Avatar
Nocturnal Nocturnal is offline
Metamathemagician
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 10th, 2016
RPXP: 7730
Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal Nocturnal
Posts: 10,237
That is the last rules question that I'll be answering, so good luck hvg3akaek!
__________________
Back in business, no more excuses!
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old Dec 17th, 2010, 10:21 AM
Jayjayman122's Avatar
Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 is offline
Mythical Dreamer
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 6th, 2013
RPXP: 2032
Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122
Posts: 2,409
I have a question more about the rules of the site, and will be using 4e as an example, so I'm unsure as to where I would post this - So here it is, and if it is in an incorrect location, please point me to where I should go.

In the forum rules thread, posted by Admin Mirtos, the following paragraph is found:

Quote:
Posting Information from other Sources - When Posting other information from outside books, or requesting said information, we follow the basic idea. Small bits of information, such as a paragraph, is fine as long as the source is properly quoted. Obviously we dont expect people to be exact, but quotes followed simply by the source name is acceptable. Anything more than a short paragraph, such as a full class description with its full ability table goes beyond this, and even if it does not violate any laws, at DND Online Games, this is not appropriate. If You aren't clear on what is acceptable and what isn't, please do not hesitate to PM me or any other moderator or Administrator to help answer the question for you.
Recently, in one of the games I'm playing in, the DM requested we post our powers (in the format shown in the below example) for quick reference. I thought it was a great idea, very neat and organized, so I began coding all my powers in a word document for easy copy/paste for whenever I'll be using them. Instead of sticking to one character, I decided it would be nice to do it for all my characters (because I clearly have time to kill.) I was wondering, however, if it is a site violation, as I do not want to break any rules and have all my coding be for not.

Formatting Example
Move: Fluid Motion
Encounter
Move Action Personal
Effect Go anywhere you would like, always.
Fluid Motion To D8 (via C4-C5-C6-D7-D8)
Minor: Crazy Killer
At-Will
Minor Action
Effect: Whoa, you really want this thing dead, and hitting it will deal uber massive damage!
Crazy Killer on Wererat 3
Standard: Souble Slash
At-Will * Martial, Weapon
Standard Action Melee
Target: One or Two Creatures
Requirement: You must be wielding two melee weapons.
Attack: Strength vs. AC (melee; main weapon and off-hand weapon)
Hit: Kill twice, ask a couple questions later.
Double Slash on Wererat 3


Thank you for your time and I look forward to your response.

Last edited by Jayjayman122; Dec 18th, 2010 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old Dec 17th, 2010, 09:56 PM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
Hey Jayjay,

I'm pretty sure the level of detail you have gone into in each of those examples breaks copyright, and thus is against site rules as well. I'm also not sure that having so much information is necessary, when something like this would do the job as well:

Move: Swiftcurrent Shift to D8 (via C4-C5-C6-D7-D8)

If they were applicable, you could add in the Can shift over liquid terrain.
Do not suffer any squeezing penalties.
Can move through enemy spaces.
Ignores difficult terrain.
Take no damage from the ground crossed.
extra pieces of info, but if you were (for example) shifting across an open, paved area, without any monsters about, you could leave it as above.


So, in general - yes, copying out anything more than the names of 4e powers, feats, abilities, features, or items is an infringement on copyright, and is not allowed on this site. Stick to only giving what is necessary, and putting things in your own words.

Also - it would probably be a good idea to remove the TT options in your above post - even though it's in a question, it is still breaking site rules. (a better example for your question would have been for made-up powers )
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old Dec 18th, 2010, 11:42 PM
Jayjayman122's Avatar
Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 is offline
Mythical Dreamer
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 6th, 2013
RPXP: 2032
Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122 Jayjayman122
Posts: 2,409
Ok perfect, thanks! I'm going to keep the post up with the answer so I can direct the DM this way - I'll go ahead and edit the TT tags so they're... original
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old Oct 12th, 2011, 03:34 PM
Silent Tiger's Avatar
Silent Tiger Silent Tiger is offline
Silent, but Deadly
Event Judge  

Former Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Feb 14th, 2020
RPXP: 5071
Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger Silent Tiger
Posts: 11,293
This is going to be filed under, why would you do that, but:

Can you take the same daily or encounter twice as one of your powers? For example, I get my second daily power, and really like my 1st level daily. Can I learn it to use a second time, foregoing the higher level daily power?
__________________
Catching up on some RL stuff, posting will not be as heavy for a while.

Last edited by Silent Tiger; Oct 12th, 2011 at 03:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old Oct 12th, 2011, 06:58 PM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
No, although it is something that could be nice to do occasionally

see PHB, page 27, first paragraph under the heading "7. Powers".

I think the idea is that if a power is really good enough to want to take it twice, it must be broken. So, let's put in a rule to stop that happening
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old Oct 16th, 2011, 01:16 PM
tiluvias99's Avatar
tiluvias99 tiluvias99 is offline
Good news everyone!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Oct 5th, 2016
RPXP: 2964
tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99 tiluvias99
Posts: 4,280
I have a question about the Persistent Tail power from page 175 of the PHB3. It states that "If you end the movement with cover or concealment against the target, you can make a Stealth check to become hidden." Just to be sure, this overrides the standard requirement of superior cover/total concealment for becoming hidden, correct?
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old Oct 16th, 2011, 06:48 PM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
That is correct.

4e is based around the idea that a more specific rule (in this case, the skill power) overrides the general rule (stealth).
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old Dec 28th, 2011, 05:45 AM
Blackout's Avatar
Blackout Blackout is offline
Young Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 1st, 2021
RPXP: 0
Blackout
Posts: 21
Hi, could someone help me with understanding the full disipline keyword powers for monks? Do you have to use both the move and standard action? Do they have to be from the same power? I assume that expending the movement action for an encouter power expends the whole power for that encounter, is that right?
If you do get 'locked' to a full disipline power, what happens if you use one power and then expend an action point, can you use the action point for another power?
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old Dec 28th, 2011, 08:56 AM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
Quote:
Hi, could someone help me with understanding the full disipline keyword powers for monks?
hey Blackout!

The Full Discipline thing is a little difficult, but the restriction is a limiting one, not an over-reaching one.

When using any Full Discipline (FD) power, you can only use that one FD power that round. You cannot take the attack from one FD, and the move from another FD. You can, however, use the move from an FD, and make another attack (charge, basic, daily, or another attack that doesn't have the FD keyword). Or, you can use the FD attack, and move normally, run, shift, and so on.

The one exception to this is when using an Action Point. If you AP, your extra action can be from another FD (but if it's an encounter, it is still used).

So, in short:

Quote:
Do you have to use both the move and standard action?
No, you can use just one part, and use your other actions as you please (as long as you don't use a different FD power)
Quote:
Do they have to be from the same power?
Yes, you can only access one FD per round - unless you AP.
Quote:
I assume that expending the movement action for an encouter power expends the whole power for that encounter, is that right?
Correct. Using any part of an FD expends it - though, you can still use the attack and move parts of an encounter power in the same round.
Quote:
If you do get 'locked' to a full disipline power, what happens if you use one power and then expend an action point, can you use the action point for another power?
Yes, an AP allows you to switch to another FD.
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old Dec 28th, 2011, 08:57 PM
Blackout's Avatar
Blackout Blackout is offline
Young Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 1st, 2021
RPXP: 0
Blackout
Posts: 21
Thank you hvg3akaek for clarifying that for me
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB