Ask the Sage: Quick Rules Questions Vol. 5 (DnD 4e) - Page 9 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > Game Rules
twitter facebook facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #121  
Old Dec 29th, 2011, 02:35 AM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
you're welcome
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old May 19th, 2013, 08:49 AM
ShadowcatX's Avatar
ShadowcatX ShadowcatX is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 5568
ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX
Posts: 4,529
There really isn't a higher authority in the game than the DM so long as the board's rules are being followed and the board's rules have nothing to say about cheating in a game.

That said, there is nothing illegal about using one set of tags for multiple dice rolls. Nor would using one set of tags change the outcome of the rolls. (Tried it out here.)

Third, if I were you (or your friend) I would think LONG AND HARD before I accused other people of cheating. If I were your DM this accusation would get both of you kicked out of the game and black listed, but that's not on the DM, IMO, that's on you and your friend for making false accusations.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old May 19th, 2013, 10:08 AM
nai888's Avatar
nai888 nai888 is offline
Wanderer
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Apr 11th, 2019
RPXP: 2540
nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888
Posts: 2,803
ShadowcatX, would you like me to respond here, or should I try to resolve it in-game?
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old May 19th, 2013, 12:02 PM
ShadowcatX's Avatar
ShadowcatX ShadowcatX is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 5568
ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX
Posts: 4,529
Resolve it however you like. I don't have a cat in this fight, I was just putting my 2 cents in.

Edit: Actually, there's no need to make even more drama public. (This is the perfect example of stuff that should be resolved by just talking it out in an OOC thread and never coming this far.)

Last edited by ShadowcatX; May 19th, 2013 at 12:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old May 19th, 2013, 12:12 PM
nai888's Avatar
nai888 nai888 is offline
Wanderer
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Apr 11th, 2019
RPXP: 2540
nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888 nai888
Posts: 2,803
Okay. Thank you for your support.
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old May 19th, 2013, 02:14 PM
ShadowcatX's Avatar
ShadowcatX ShadowcatX is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 28th, 2023
RPXP: 5568
ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX ShadowcatX
Posts: 4,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by loki_ragnarock View Post
Pathfinder. Order of operations query:

A character casts unwilling shield, causing the character to "take only half damage from all wounds and attacks (including those dealt by special abilities) that deal hit point damage."
The same character also has damage reduction.

I think only the damage that gets by the damage reduction should be split, but it sort of depends on the order of operations;is it the raw damage, or only such damage as gets by the reduction?
First, wrong thread.

Secondly, I don't believe there is a RAW answer. (At the least I can't think of one nor find one online in my quick search I performed. The closest I found was "whatever benefits the pc's" but I don't believe that to be RAW myself.) My suggestion would be pick something and write it down and stick with it. If it becomes a huge deal, then worry about it.

I'd probably split first, however damage is splitting, then apply DR for each creature separately, so I only have one split step and one DR step.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old May 22nd, 2013, 09:26 PM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Mar 22nd, 2023
RPXP: 7922
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,890
SoxFox and Nai888:
Nai888's rolls are mostly likely legitimate coincidence. There have been several updates on the dice roller to severely limit the ability to trick the system. Even if I paste the 'result code' directly into a new post, it will indicate that it is not a legitimate roll (see below). It will also similarly indicate any roll that is deleted or modified (even as much as a space) in the dice tags.

Dice * kd1, kd2 OA:
d20+7sh19 (20)+7 Total = 27
d6+3 (5)+3 Total = 8
d20+7sh19 (20)+7 Total = 27
d6+3 (5)+3 Total = 8


same roll, slightly modified
Dice * Roll:
d20+7sh19 (20)+7 Total = 27
d6+3 (5)+3 Total = 8
d20+7sh19 (20)+7 Total = 27
d6+3 (5)+3 Total = 8


Both show the red outline that indicates it is not a "legitimate roll".

-me
__________________
Fun Frog Facts:
The common species of frogs are unique in the animal kingdom because they are able to mate with either sex.
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old Jun 6th, 2013, 08:43 AM
Elwood's Avatar
Elwood Elwood is offline
Rhythm and Blues Review
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Sep 21st, 2018
RPXP: 1798
Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood
Posts: 946
I'm looking for the rule language about the number of Item Daily Powers one is allowed to use. I see this rule referenced on the threads but I can't find it anywhere. I own PH1 PH2 DM1 DM2 MM1 -- I figured it would definitely be in one of those. I also have DDI. So a book and page# reference will be good, or a link to the DDI entry will also work.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old Jun 6th, 2013, 07:19 PM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
Hi Elwood!

Do note that they have since changed this rule (with the Essentials line of products). The original rule is on page 226 of the PHB1 (top right column). After the release of the Essentials like, they have pretty much said you can use as many daily item powers as you want, and have instead tried to limit the number of items you can get that have daily powers.
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old Jun 6th, 2013, 10:02 PM
Elwood's Avatar
Elwood Elwood is offline
Rhythm and Blues Review
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Sep 21st, 2018
RPXP: 1798
Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood Elwood
Posts: 946
Thanks. I guess it's up to the DM, then. Because I've seen references to the limit. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old Jun 7th, 2013, 11:54 AM
erpderp32's Avatar
erpderp32 erpderp32 is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 1st, 2014
RPXP: 1299
erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32
Posts: 1,792
I just wanted to know if anyone can clarify beast companion rules for me, as a player in my rl group will be using one.

Are the companions actions counted separately from the characters, as in, do both get move and attack actions on their turn?

Or does the ranger use their move action to move the companion?


^posted this question in the wrong forum (the other rules forum).

I'm still hazy on how animal companions work in 4e
__________________
Attention all would be fly-boys, scavengers, mercenaries, and other rogues, vagabonds, transients, and dissolute persons:

Across the Stars, A Cascade Failure Sandbox Campaign is once again recruiting!
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old Jun 7th, 2013, 11:28 PM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
Elwood - yep, depends on the stance the DM wants to take (because if they are using the 'new' rules, then there's all this item rarity stuff they will have to look into).

erpderp32 - Are you talking of the Ranger's companion? There are a few different ways folks can get animals (or other things) as companions, and they all have their own interesting bits to know. My immediate advice is that you should go read whichever book that is from: Martial Power, if it's the ranger

In general, the character gets their normal three actions (standard, move, minor), and the companion gets none. Some attacks will allow the companion to also attack, but other than that, only one of the pair can attack. however, if the character makes a move, the companion can also move.
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old Jun 7th, 2013, 11:41 PM
erpderp32's Avatar
erpderp32 erpderp32 is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 1st, 2014
RPXP: 1299
erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32 erpderp32
Posts: 1,792
Ya. I was reading through martial power,i was just unsure if the player could move the ranger, then.say, move the wolf to flank, then use the ranger to attack in one turn.

I mean, i could run it as another (semi)character. But im not sure what the rules are getting at. 0.o


Edit: Nevermind! Got it now. Both can move, but other actions are separate.

Thanks for the help
__________________
Attention all would be fly-boys, scavengers, mercenaries, and other rogues, vagabonds, transients, and dissolute persons:

Across the Stars, A Cascade Failure Sandbox Campaign is once again recruiting!

Last edited by erpderp32; Jun 8th, 2013 at 01:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old Jun 8th, 2013, 01:41 AM
hvg3akaek's Avatar
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek is offline
1 Peter 2:24
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Dec 15th, 2021
RPXP: 35273
hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek hvg3akaek
Posts: 56,730
glad you are clear on it now
__________________
Hugga asks: Super Fantasy Brawl?
Games: HOF, VotV, T3E
=>> ...back to flooding, now...<<=
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old Jul 28th, 2013, 05:25 AM
Punkie's Avatar
Punkie Punkie is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Sep 12th, 2014
RPXP: 91
Punkie
Posts: 115
If the fixed enhancement bonuses from dark sun are used, and you gain an item that has enhancement bonuses to reflex, do they stack?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:33 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2023, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB