Minor artifact bag of holding planar travel - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Feedback & User Resources > Gaming Advice > DM Screen > Houserules and Custom Options
twitter facebook


Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2016, 10:28 PM
Burtondm Burtondm is offline
New Member
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-06-2016
Posts: 1
Minor artifact bag of holding planar travel

So i've recently just started gaming again with a group of friends and have found myself, once again, in the dm's chair
We are playing 3.5 edition d&d in the forgotten realms setting. Currently i am playing them through "Cormyr, the tearing of the weave" in which priests of sharr are disguised as priests of mystra and try dominating the party with a minor artifact called the "Starry Gnosis" a black orb that can dominate people when a key phrase is spoken. The group paladin managed to get it into his bag of holding and thats where it seems to have been forgotten by them. In the next part of their adventure they are basically gonna have to travel to the shadow plane to continue to search for closure on this mission. I was just wondering what your guys' thoughts are on how being on the shadow plane will affect an item like this if its in a bag of holding. I was thinking almost making it into a sort of beacon that calls baddies to come search it out, but am not sure 100% on how bags of holding might prevent that. Since nothing is covered in terms of the party even keeping the item with them in the book i just made this account on here in hopes of another perspective and maybe some good insight
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 11:49 PM
zevonian's Avatar
zevonian zevonian is offline
137 NPSG Graduates
User Statistics
Last Visit: 07-03-2020
RPXP: 36798
zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian zevonian
Posts: 28,946
Welcome to the site. I hope you find us interesting enough to want to game on here, in addition to asking for advice.

To answer your question I offer a question. As it's your campaign, have you considered just reminding the party of the artifact's existence and tell them they can just pull it out of the bag?

If you don't feel like using the shadow plane for part of the game, don't use it.
Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2016, 11:55 PM
TheGreyWulf's Avatar
TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf is offline
Certified Wolf
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-13-2017
RPXP: 1451
TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf TheGreyWulf
Posts: 494
You can play it in whichever way that suits you. If they challenge you, remind them that a Minor Artifact trumps a non-artifact wondrous item. Essentially, the power of the orb seeps through the dimensional fabric of the bag just because it's more awesome.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)

RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2020, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB