RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #796  
Old 05-19-2010, 02:42 AM
Rcc Rcc is offline
Continuum Transfunctioner
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-23-2010
RPXP: 816
Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc
Posts: 1,754
no, those test1 and test2 look fine

maybe
Dice * there may be a problem with the amount of text:
d20 1
(1) and
Dice there may be a problem with the amount of text:
d20 1
(1)

nope, these look fine as well.

I could email you a screenprint if you like?

Last edited by Rcc; 05-19-2010 at 02:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #797  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:12 AM
Birched's Avatar
Birched Birched is offline
hold onto that spark
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 11-20-2019
RPXP: 25776
Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched
Posts: 13,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcc View Post
no, those test1 and test2 look fine

maybe
Dice * there may be a problem with the amount of text:
d20 1
(1) and
Dice * there may be a problem with the amount of text:
d20 1
(1)

nope, these look fine as well.

I could email you a screenprint if you like?
Could you put one at imageshack.us and link me to it?

I don't have any of these problems (of course I don't! I'm not using IE! *grumbles*) and because they are mouseover scripts I can't test them with the tools I normally use to simulate IE (there are some sites that will give limited screenshots -- that's how I fixed the IE-specific problem with the t-shirt pictures not being all on the top row, for example). That makes it really hard for me to test.

It's *probably* a problem that will be solved by massaging the css for the tooltips, so if IE has the capability to edit css of viewed pages on the fly, I might be able to work with you to trouble shoot it and figure out what needs fixing here.

It sounds like something relatively simple to fix, but it is greatly complicated by the fact that it happens in a browser I don't have under an OS I don't have, in a way that seems to be difficult to reproduce.
Reply With Quote
  #798  
Old 05-19-2010, 10:18 AM
Birched's Avatar
Birched Birched is offline
hold onto that spark
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 11-20-2019
RPXP: 25776
Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched
Posts: 13,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rcc View Post
In fact there is no horizontal scrollbar, because it is not needed for any of the page's other elements.
In firefox, the horizontal scrollbar is added as needed (so if you activate an element that goes outside the page, the scrollbar appears).

Also, the tool tips match the style/skin colour scheme in everything but Explorer (because of Explorer's awesome inability to inherit colours).

I'll try to fix this problem either way... but I'm a little curious -- why do people keep using Explorer? I'm a little afraid that the answer is that it's because most web site designers bend backwards to try to make things work for it, so it *appears* to work as well as any other browser (even though it definitely doesn't).
Reply With Quote
  #799  
Old 05-19-2010, 06:36 PM
TheKeck's Avatar
TheKeck TheKeck is offline
Fairly Decent Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 01-26-2018
RPXP: 7287
TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck
Posts: 12,990
1) I like how the favorites work.
2) I find it to operate faster and more smoothly.
3) It uses less memory.
4) Some sites require it.
5) It is better integrated into the OS.
6) It handles opening downloads better.

As a web developer myself, I totally understand the pain of dealing with IE, but as an end user, I prefer it. :/ (Even though I am currently posting from firefox on my Mac at work. )
__________________
Avron Brian Cimetrion Georg Harshaw . ,

Last edited by TheKeck; 05-19-2010 at 06:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #800  
Old 05-19-2010, 11:31 PM
Still_Pond's Avatar
Still_Pond Still_Pond is online now
Insert User Title Here.
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 11-20-2019
RPXP: 21822
Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond
Posts: 13,799
Wow, I take issue with most of those points, TheKeck...or at least I use Chrome for most of those reasons. That is why it is good to have choices, we all like different things. Anyway...this is a Bug thread and I have a bug!

I just posted some spoiler button heavy tutorial posts. I noticed that my nested spoiler buttons don't display the text on the button they are supposed to until after I open and shut them. They display the parent spoiler button text instead.

Look at this post.

I'm using Chrome, but I've also seen the same bug in Firefox and Explorer using several skins.
__________________
((()))


Last edited by Still_Pond; 05-19-2010 at 11:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #801  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:24 AM
Toad`'s Avatar
Toad` Toad` is offline
wahlulubalabawalagulaa - ON HIATUS
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-09-2013
RPXP: 26694
Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad`
Posts: 16,149
Still_Pond,
All those spoilerbuttons look fine to me...

Firefox, Windows XP Pro, Parchment


-Grave
__________________
I'm on hiatus for an indeterminate amount of time.
Reply With Quote
  #802  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:30 AM
Birched's Avatar
Birched Birched is offline
hold onto that spark
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 11-20-2019
RPXP: 25776
Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched Birched
Posts: 13,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toad` View Post
Still_Pond,
All those spoilerbuttons look fine to me...

Firefox, Windows XP Pro, Parchment


-Grave
I can confirm that I see what he sees. The buttons look fine, but for example, if you specify nested spoilers like this:
spoilerbutton 'a'
--spoilerbutton 'b'
----spoilerbutton 'c'

Then it'll look like this when the page is output:
spoilerbutton 'a'
--spoilerbutton 'a'
----spoilerbutton 'a'

And will revert to the right title if any of the spoilerbuttons is clicked.

This has been reported before (in this thread? not going to check right now), and I think it's due to the fact that the custom bbcode 'option' (the 'a', 'b', 'c' above) is filled in a pretty global way within the spoilerbuttons. The reason it works after you click it is that the javascript takes over, populating the title field with the right information.

EDIT: do fieldsets work right?
ax
by
Reply With Quote
  #803  
Old 05-20-2010, 09:43 AM
Toad`'s Avatar
Toad` Toad` is offline
wahlulubalabawalagulaa - ON HIATUS
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-09-2013
RPXP: 26694
Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad` Toad`
Posts: 16,149
Ah, I see. I was looking for text to be completely missing - my bad.

Adaram did report this already.


-Grave
__________________
I'm on hiatus for an indeterminate amount of time.
Reply With Quote
  #804  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:57 AM
Still_Pond's Avatar
Still_Pond Still_Pond is online now
Insert User Title Here.
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 11-20-2019
RPXP: 21822
Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond
Posts: 13,799
Ah. Sorry to report it twice then. Does that make it twice as important?

Not that I need it now, but I took a screen shot of it. Also, I did clear my cache to see if it mattered, and apparently it doesn't.
 
__________________
((()))

Reply With Quote
  #805  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:41 PM
TheKeck's Avatar
TheKeck TheKeck is offline
Fairly Decent Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 01-26-2018
RPXP: 7287
TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck TheKeck
Posts: 12,990
Quote:
Originally Posted by Still_Pond View Post
Wow, I take issue with most of those points, TheKeck...or at least I use Chrome for most of those reasons. That is why it is good to have choices, we all like different things.
Well, I was comparing specifically to firefox. I tried Chrome for a few days when it first came out and don't quite remember why I hated it. Perhaps I'll try again someday.

I agree that it is good to have choices, and a lot of this comes down to personal preference.
__________________
Avron Brian Cimetrion Georg Harshaw . ,
Reply With Quote
  #806  
Old 05-21-2010, 05:59 PM
Amy's Avatar
Amy Amy is offline
LOC-NAR
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 10-28-2019
RPXP: 5863
Amy Amy Amy Amy Amy Amy Amy Amy Amy Amy Amy
Posts: 16,459
B - I am pretty sure that one of the PM's I received in the last couple of days has disappeared/been eaten. Is this possible? Or is it Admin User Error?

Thanks
__________________
.
Boogers
.
Reply With Quote
  #807  
Old 05-21-2010, 07:46 PM
Still_Pond's Avatar
Still_Pond Still_Pond is online now
Insert User Title Here.
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 11-20-2019
RPXP: 21822
Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond Still_Pond
Posts: 13,799
I don't know if it is relevant or not, but I noticed that spoiler button error had a new error the other day. Instead of repeating the parent text in the buttons, they had the "vote Now" and "save" and "edit" buttons. As I opened and shut the offending spoiler buttons, the text cycled and changed. I messed around a little and managed to get it to act weird like this again, so I took a screen shot of it.

 
__________________
((()))


Last edited by Still_Pond; 05-21-2010 at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #808  
Old 05-24-2010, 08:52 PM
Rcc Rcc is offline
Continuum Transfunctioner
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-23-2010
RPXP: 816
Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc
Posts: 1,754
Birched,

As to why I use IE? I agree on almost all points that the Keck mentioned earlier and add to that the fact that is it the only browser I know of to properly handle several Microsoft items such as Reporting Services. I've had my share of browsers and most were a) too slow compared to a well-installed IE instance or B) didn't cope with the sites that I really want to operate smoothly.

And finally, yes I'm a web developer too. (well, consultant/project manager/developer sorta, but I spend a fair bit of time looking at computer screens ) so if you need my cooperation fixing this minor bug, I'm here to serve and protect..

Last edited by Rcc; 05-24-2010 at 09:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #809  
Old 05-24-2010, 08:58 PM
Rcc Rcc is offline
Continuum Transfunctioner
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 12-23-2010
RPXP: 816
Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc Rcc
Posts: 1,754
Dice roll bug?

Click image for larger version

Name:	printscreen.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	284.0 KB
ID:	41298

How's that?
Reply With Quote
  #810  
Old 05-24-2010, 10:24 PM
Wolfman's Avatar
Wolfman Wolfman is offline
Great Wyrm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: 09-22-2015
RPXP: 5621
Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman Wolfman
Posts: 5,797
Lord Birched

I have a question, Please.

I am subscribed to a game, BUT It seams that I only get the "New Subscribed Thread" message on my Account page on a few of the threads in that game, NOT all of them. Is their a fix for this?

And I never did get a response about my question regarding Edits to existing post, I wanted a notice that told you if a post had been edited in one of your subscribed threads.

Thanks for you help.
__________________
Been off site for a year or so and looking to get into a game or two.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:54 AM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2019, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB