5e Torches - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old Jun 27th, 2021, 03:25 AM
Shula's Avatar
Shula Shula is offline
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 1122
Shula Shula Shula Shula Shula Shula Shula Shula Shula
Posts: 1,628
5e Torches

Ok, torches have their own mechanic: If you make a melee attack with a burning torch and hit, it deals 1 fire damage.

It doesn't follow the rules of improvised weapons, otherwise it would be a club doing 1d4 damage plus 1 fire.

However, though I am clear on that point, I can't find any guidance as to whether its finesse or not. The conservative thing is to say since it's not finesse since it doesn't say so. However, it doesn't say (as the rules of weapons does) that you add the modifier of the stat you use to attack. In sage advice it states that you do.

The reason I'm asking is that I'm GMing a Middle-Earth game... in the LOTR movie you see Aragorn fighting with a broadsword and with a torch in his of-hand. So I'm inclined to houserule it that it's finesse. But there's always the rule of unintended consequences.

Does anyone have a reason why I shouldn't do it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jun 27th, 2021, 01:54 PM
Starflier's Avatar
Starflier Starflier is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 8665
Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier Starflier
Posts: 3,841
Either way it wouldn't have Finesse, in my opinion. A d4 damage die is the only special property that improvised weapons get, beside the ability to be thrown. I can't think of any conceivable reason for a club to suddenly gain Finesse, as clubs are the shining example of non-finesse weapons.

Also, Light is the weapon property that governs two-weapon use, not Finesse, and two-weapon fighting has a host of other issues to consider. Clubs already have the Light property, if you're going to treat it as a club.

As to why not: a Light, Finesse, weapon dealing 1d4+1 would basically make every other weapon dealing d6 or less obsolete. Suddenly your rogue is dual-wielding torches for sneak attacks. It's up to you as the DM, but if you build it, they will break it.
__________________
Originality is the fine art of remembering what you hear but forgetting where you heard it. - Laurence J. Peter

Monthly Character Creation Contest (MCAC)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jun 28th, 2021, 01:22 AM
jj_wolven's Avatar
jj_wolven jj_wolven is offline
*woof*
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 7363
jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven jj_wolven
Posts: 18,697
Special cases always usurp general rules, so it they changed the torch to 1dmg instead of d4 then RAW it stands.

-me
__________________
Ugh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:14 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2021, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB