Information Competition rules and rules queries for Outplay 2021 - Page 7 - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Recruiting, Solos and Open Gaming > Open Roleplaying > Outplay Arena > Outplay 2021
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #91  
Old Jul 6th, 2021, 10:47 PM
Bhelogan's Avatar
Bhelogan Bhelogan is online now
Druid of the Coast
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 27556
Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan
Posts: 19,509
It's just a way some people prefer to lay out their posts. Do what looks good to you.
__________________
Always taking new players for City of Endless Arenas
Characters: Saber - Svaly Contact: dmbhelogan@gmail.com - Check out: My Map Tutorials
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old Jul 6th, 2021, 11:20 PM
JustSomeGuy's Avatar
JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy is offline
Adult Dragon
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 1st, 2021
RPXP: 1430
JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy JustSomeGuy
Posts: 148
Good to know. I like the way that I've been doing it so far... but that format style was so ubiquitous that I wanted to make sure that I hadn't missed anything. Thanks again!
__________________
Characters: Ace Harlan - Cade 'Sunspot' Taproot
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 05:10 AM
stepanxol's Avatar
stepanxol stepanxol is offline
fundamentally useless
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 31st, 2021
RPXP: 10122
stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol
Posts: 6,026
Hi Bhelogan, I just posted and rolled with penalty. I was rolling high and my CN is 4, so instead of writing sch4 I just put sch5. And then... I rolled two fives

It is correct to consider these two results as double success, right? After all, If I had rolled d6-1, they would've been 4s. Also (and I admit, I'm posting mainly because this reference gives me great joy)...

...I wrote 'schX' and then rolled X, and this is the definition of "power score" since AD&D2e's Complete Psionics Handbook

PS I do know that you've just answered basically the same question above, but in reverse (bonuses and penalties bump natural rolls OFF a double success). So I'm 99% sure that my interpretation is correct, but still, I couldn't resist posting to send a warm thought to the Psionics Handbook. I wonder if I'm the only person who ever used that untested mess -- I had so much fun though!
__________________
I have sworn the Oath of Sangus
Come over at the Solo Bazaar, have a cozy game!
#BARD4LIFE. 'Nuff said.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 07:43 AM
HenryLockwood's Avatar
HenryLockwood HenryLockwood is online now
Barbarus sum
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 18947
HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood
Posts: 9,405
I may be blind here, but where are the rules for rolling with a penalty? I didn't spot them in the system. Does that mean one fewer success, or rolling 1d6-1, or rolling 1d5, or...?

Thanks!
__________________
Not site-related: but I'm fundraising for the Alzheimer's Society this month. I'll be riding 250 miles (400km) in August. If you'd like to sponsor me, here is my JustGiving page.
Maps for Wrath
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 08:15 AM
Retry's Avatar
Retry Retry is online now
Here to help
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 25519
Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry Retry
Posts: 7,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenryLockwood View Post
I may be blind here, but where are the rules for rolling with a penalty? I didn't spot them in the system. Does that mean one fewer success, or rolling 1d6-1, or rolling 1d5, or...?

Thanks!
It means +/- 1 point to your d6 roll(s) depending on if you're rolling high/low. I've quoted it below and made it quite noticeable to help

 
__________________
Status: expected delay this coming weekend to celebrate daughter's bday. (Aug 6- Aug 8)
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 08:40 AM
HenryLockwood's Avatar
HenryLockwood HenryLockwood is online now
Barbarus sum
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 18947
HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood HenryLockwood
Posts: 9,405
Yup, me being blind. Thank you!
__________________
Not site-related: but I'm fundraising for the Alzheimer's Society this month. I'll be riding 250 miles (400km) in August. If you'd like to sponsor me, here is my JustGiving page.
Maps for Wrath
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 11:53 AM
stepanxol's Avatar
stepanxol stepanxol is offline
fundamentally useless
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jul 31st, 2021
RPXP: 10122
stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol stepanxol
Posts: 6,026
The system says:
HelpingIf you would like to help another character with a roll, describe what you are doing to help, and make an Outplay Roll of your own. If successful, they add +1d to their roll.

Does this consume a character's action for the round? I suspect so, but wanted to be sure.
__________________
I have sworn the Oath of Sangus
Come over at the Solo Bazaar, have a cozy game!
#BARD4LIFE. 'Nuff said.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 12:01 PM
Bhelogan's Avatar
Bhelogan Bhelogan is online now
Druid of the Coast
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 27556
Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan
Posts: 19,509
Yes, it uses your action
__________________
Always taking new players for City of Endless Arenas
Characters: Saber - Svaly Contact: dmbhelogan@gmail.com - Check out: My Map Tutorials
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 12:06 PM
DAquilina's Avatar
DAquilina DAquilina is offline
Distanced, Socially
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 1st, 2021
RPXP: 19833
DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina
Posts: 7,733
Does the special circumstance associated with my bracket's current round forgo any other action we would take? I.e. do we roll to react and then roll our regular actions, or just roll to react?
__________________
Agents of Edgewatch | P6 Arena | Severed Bonds
See something you like? Nominate it for Post of the Month!
I have taken the Oath of Sangus
Expecting my first child soon -- expect delays

Last edited by DAquilina; Jul 7th, 2021 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 12:23 PM
Wishkamon's Avatar
Wishkamon Wishkamon is online now
Literal Worm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 7890
Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon
Posts: 1,252
In addition, does the special circumstance roll need to be rolled at the same time? I'm guessing yes but kind of a bummer given the result could mean 2 very different posts, but with that 1 hour edit window....
__________________

Last edited by Wishkamon; Jul 7th, 2021 at 12:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 12:53 PM
Wishkamon's Avatar
Wishkamon Wishkamon is online now
Literal Worm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 7890
Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon
Posts: 1,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAquilina View Post
Does the special circumstance associated with my bracket's current round forgo any other action we would take? I.e. do we roll to react and then roll our regular actions, or just roll to react?

'(Note, this role does not take place of your action this round)' so seems that you can still make a seperate action roll
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 01:00 PM
DAquilina's Avatar
DAquilina DAquilina is offline
Distanced, Socially
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 1st, 2021
RPXP: 19833
DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina
Posts: 7,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wishkamon View Post
'(Note, this role does not take place of your action this round)' so seems that you can still make a seperate action roll
Ah, missed that. Thank you!

EDIT: That caveat is not present in our thread, so I'm assuming it's still valid? I'm trying to avoid spoilers, though I think my previous round's action may be partially responsible for this aforementioned circumstance...
__________________
Agents of Edgewatch | P6 Arena | Severed Bonds
See something you like? Nominate it for Post of the Month!
I have taken the Oath of Sangus
Expecting my first child soon -- expect delays

Last edited by DAquilina; Jul 7th, 2021 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 01:10 PM
Bhelogan's Avatar
Bhelogan Bhelogan is online now
Druid of the Coast
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 27556
Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan Bhelogan
Posts: 19,509
Yes, it does not replace your action. If failed, it may limit what your actions can be though (e.g. you are not where you were intending to go)

Causes, where a scenario would require your action to address, are specifically mentioned as being so.
__________________
Always taking new players for City of Endless Arenas
Characters: Saber - Svaly Contact: dmbhelogan@gmail.com - Check out: My Map Tutorials

Last edited by Bhelogan; Jul 7th, 2021 at 01:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 01:11 PM
DAquilina's Avatar
DAquilina DAquilina is offline
Distanced, Socially
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 1st, 2021
RPXP: 19833
DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina DAquilina
Posts: 7,733
Great, thank you!
__________________
Agents of Edgewatch | P6 Arena | Severed Bonds
See something you like? Nominate it for Post of the Month!
I have taken the Oath of Sangus
Expecting my first child soon -- expect delays
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old Jul 7th, 2021, 01:52 PM
Wishkamon's Avatar
Wishkamon Wishkamon is online now
Literal Worm
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 2nd, 2021
RPXP: 7890
Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon Wishkamon
Posts: 1,252
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wishkamon View Post
In addition, does the special circumstance roll need to be rolled at the same time? I'm guessing yes but kind of a bummer given the result could mean 2 very different posts, with that 1 hour edit window....
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.( 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2021, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB