Information Please Ask all Factions Expansion Questions Here - RPG Crossing
RPG Crossing Home Forums Create An Account! Site Rules & Help

RPG Crossing
Go Back   RPG Crossing > Games > Pathfinder: 1e > Eternity's End (Head GM) > Eternity's End > Eternity's End Staff Communications > Help
twitter facebook

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old Nov 6th, 2012, 06:10 PM
WoLT's Avatar
WoLT WoLT is offline
Great Wyrm
Newsletter Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jan 6th, 2021
RPXP: 3171
WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT
Posts: 9,834
Please Ask all Factions Expansion Questions Here

Please Ask all Factions Expansion Questions Here.

Be sure you have read the FAQ on factions before you ask a question.

Last edited by Quori; Feb 8th, 2013 at 03:26 AM. Reason: Updated EE Links
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Nov 7th, 2012, 02:49 AM
Fenfer's Avatar
Fenfer Fenfer is offline
Nyan Cat Activate!
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Nov 27th, 2012
RPXP: 279
Fenfer Fenfer Fenfer
Posts: 193
This is not a question; This is so you may clarify the mechanics in Skull 'N' Bones

Quote:
Watch Yer Back II: Starting at 6th level, a scoundrel can react to danger before his senses would normally allow her to do so. He retains his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any) even if he is caught flat-footed or struck by an invisible attacker. He still loses his Dexterity bonus to AC if immobilized.

If a scoundrel already has uncanny dodge from a class, he automatically gains improved uncanny dodge instead as well as a bonus rogue talent that he with exception to class requirementsmeets prerequisites for.
Quote:
Friends in Low Places I: A scoundrel gains a bonus rogue talent that he meets the prerequisites for.
1. With these two combined, the reader will see that, he/she will be able to receive 2 rogue talents instead of one. if he already has "uncanny dodge".

2. Once a rogue achieves level 8, he will receive improved uncanny dodge. The PRD states,
Quote:
Improved Uncanny Dodge (Ex): A rogue of 8th level or higher can no longer be flanked.

This defense denies another rogue the ability to sneak attack the character by flanking her, unless the attacker has at least four more rogue levels than the target does.

If a character already has uncanny dodge (see above) from another class, the levels from the classes that grant uncanny dodge stack to determine the minimum rogue level required to flank the character.
So, if a player already has Improved uncanny dodge, how will one calculate the "class" that these two feats will combine, since the other class is non-existant?

Or, did you mean, that if a player has Improved uncanny dodge, they may take a rogue talent prerequisite? But that does not compute, since a Rogue will achieve his improved uncanny dodge at level 8 instead of 6.

______
EDIT:

Though this may not be of an issue; but I can forsee someone arguing in the case of being able to take two advanced rogue talents because of what the prd states:

Quote:
Advanced Talents: At 10th level, and every two levels thereafter, a rogue can choose one of the following advanced talents in place of a rogue talent.
Since Advanced Rogue Talents are allowed in place of regular rogue talents after level 10; Are you allowing, then, Players to take 2 advanced rogue talents, or prohobited from doing so?

Thanks for reading.
__________________
Take a look at these backstories! Tell me whatchu think for Lelonis, Rivid, Pearl Millstone
“Death is not what one considers the end, my dear Lelonis… In fact…. It is when it is prevented that one should despair.”

Last edited by Fenfer; Nov 7th, 2012 at 03:22 AM. Reason: EDIT: Another wording
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 7th, 2012, 03:18 AM
WoLT's Avatar
WoLT WoLT is offline
Great Wyrm
Newsletter Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jan 6th, 2021
RPXP: 3171
WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT
Posts: 9,834
Very nice catch Fenfer. The answer is already in the writing, but I've clarified it because I see that this can be a bit confusing.

The following has been edited into Skull N Bones:

Special
If a character receives Uncanny dodge twice from classes the passage from Uncanny Dodge:
If a character already has uncanny dodge (see above) from another class, the levels from the classes that grant uncanny dodge stack to determine the minimum rogue level required to flank the character. Does Apply.

If they are calculating their uncanny dodge strictly as a rogue, he only receives the bonus Rogue Talent from the faction, it does not stack to meet the minimum rogue level required to flank the character as this is a faction ability, not a class ability.


This comes from the distinction of Class Ability vs. Faction Ability, just like a Faction Bonus differs from a Racial Bonus or other type of bonus.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 2nd, 2013, 10:41 AM
KosKallah's Avatar
KosKallah KosKallah is offline
Lightyear's away...
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 7th, 2014
RPXP: 1367
KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah
Posts: 2,436
I have a doubt about the new Mysterium Lovecraft flavor: is the Mysterium in any way bound by the new flavor or, in other terms: can I make a character to be part of the Mysterium and not have to enter lovecraftian adventures at any time (or just a few of them, at least)?

My point is the following: As I experienced my current character in the field, I became seriously thinking about I was excited to play a monk, but, in the end, I guess I ONLY like to play wizards! Besides, Hao-Chang is too powerful against characters of his level, as I see it.dropping him and taking a more arcane-inclined character... and the best faction for that is the Mysterium. The problem is that I sincerely and deeply hate all things Lovecraft and would not like to be bound by that flavor in my dealings.

What are your plans for the Mysterium?

Cheers!

PS: If the Mysterium irrevocably "loves that craft", there is no problem... I can always try a Lost or a Schaduven.
__________________
Pahtfinder GM? Join the team at Eternity's End!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 2nd, 2013, 01:34 PM
WoLT's Avatar
WoLT WoLT is offline
Great Wyrm
Newsletter Staff
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jan 6th, 2021
RPXP: 3171
WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT WoLT
Posts: 9,834
The Mysterium only has a specific lovecraftian player tone if you were to opt for the Miskatonic Study PrC. Otherwise it has only connections as described. The Miskatonic Study is a secret order within the order. The only reason to do that is because you specifically want to, not because you have to.

Each Faction is designed to offer a specific style of game play, but not force players into a particular box per se. This means you can wear the Mysterium banner in whatever style you choose as long as it makes some sense in practice.

That does mean that some people might put more or less of a lovecraftian feel on their characters, but that is up for them to decide just as it is for you to decide.

One of the main missions of EE is to present as many types of character and game options as possible given the rules available. That means even if something doesn't work right now, given enough time we'll usually try to find a way to make it work with rare exception (such as allowing evil characters, etc.).

This is shown by the addition of factions, additional features of EE, and tons of various rules revisions, to include the up and coming crafting rules.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 2nd, 2013, 04:07 PM
KosKallah's Avatar
KosKallah KosKallah is offline
Lightyear's away...
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Jun 7th, 2014
RPXP: 1367
KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah KosKallah
Posts: 2,436
Excellent! Count me in, then!

Thanks, WoLT!
__________________
Pahtfinder GM? Join the team at Eternity's End!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Aug 6th, 2013, 01:07 PM
Aldrich Koenig's Avatar
Aldrich Koenig Aldrich Koenig is offline
Guvner Namer
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 15th, 2015
RPXP: 144
Aldrich Koenig Aldrich Koenig
Posts: 750
This question is actually abouth the ethics of one of the factions. I am writing a bit of story to apply GMXP to an upcoming character and I need a little bit of clarification, just in case, on the Mingott Cartel. I know that they essentially are one of the most powerful and ruthless interdimensional trading houses in the multiverse, however I also know that EE is essentially on the side of "good." Is, then, the Mingott Cartel willing to trade in slaves on any of their client worlds?
__________________
"Everything has laws; most are dark. Learn the laws of the multiverse and you can rule it." -- Factol Haskar
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Aug 6th, 2013, 03:56 PM
Insacrum's Avatar
Insacrum Insacrum is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 27th, 2022
RPXP: 14146
Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum
Posts: 12,781
My personal response, not EE's official response:

EE is good and neutral... nothing evil. So is the slavery part of a prison sentence of some sort? Is the fact that they are slaves somehow compensated by the fact that they somehow 'deserve' to be in slavery.

I know that this borders on some ethical dilemmas, but it's a fantasy world, so some lines can get blurred.

Last edited by Insacrum; Aug 6th, 2013 at 03:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Aug 6th, 2013, 03:59 PM
Aldrich Koenig's Avatar
Aldrich Koenig Aldrich Koenig is offline
Guvner Namer
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: Aug 15th, 2015
RPXP: 144
Aldrich Koenig Aldrich Koenig
Posts: 750
I was more along the lines of wondering if Mingott would be willing to act as the middle man between slavers and buyers on the godsforsaken planet of Athas. I was wondering on this due to the Cartell being much more widespread than just EE and seemed to be on the seedier side in some cases.
__________________
"Everything has laws; most are dark. Learn the laws of the multiverse and you can rule it." -- Factol Haskar
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Aug 6th, 2013, 04:02 PM
Insacrum's Avatar
Insacrum Insacrum is online now
Community Supporter
 
Tools
User Statistics
Last Visit: May 27th, 2022
RPXP: 14146
Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum Insacrum
Posts: 12,781
My personal answer, not EE's official answer: Yes, they would act as a middleman. Even more so if they don't know what the cargo was.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 PM.
Skin by Birched, making use of original art by paiute.(© 2009-2012)


RPG Crossing, Copyright ©2003 - 2022, RPG Crossing Inc; powered by vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd. Template-Modifications by TMB